Muesli for breakfast and coffee in the afternoon

Last night before I went to bed I made up a little breakfast.  A recipe my friend Andrea from Indiana sent me.  I couldn’t eat it on my 6 week elimination diet but I figured now was a great time to give it a try.  It’s Muesli and it was very easy and nearly ready by the time the sun came up this morning.  Andrea sends me this recipe courtesy of a cookbook called “Nourishing Traditions” She also explained to me how by soaking our grains it helps to break down the physic acid and to neutralize enzyme inhibitors and encourage production of numerous beneficial enzymes.  She swears by it and I trust her fully.   You see I couldn’t do this alone, I have a tribe of awesome women who give me ideas, who support me and who also encourage me through prayer and encouragement.  I’m ever so grateful for this tremendous support.  I also of course have some male cheerleaders too, the men in my life who mean the most but there is just something special about sisterhood among women and I cherish it.

I used what I had on hand so it’s missing raisins and flax seeds but it still tasted super yummy, warm and had a great texture and was very filling.  I have enough left for one more morning and maybe next time plan to half the recipe.  The recipe will be on my recipe page.

This afternoon when I got off work I ran to the store to pick up some things for tomorrow. I’m making sweet potatoes a recipe I found in Martha Stewarts publication “Every Day Food” and it will include coconut milk and gosh darn it, as I type this I realize I forgot that key ingredient!!  So I will be heading out yet again.  In the meantime I sit here blog out my breakfast and also share a cup of coffee with you.  I was going to make a smoothie with frozen cranberries, almond milk and pineapple but Austin wanted me to make him some coffee this afternoon with the French press.  I switched to coffee so I could enjoy it in the mug Andrea sent me this past week.  I added cinnamon and it’s a yummy warm treat.  She filled a box with thoughtful gifts.  She is one of the encourages I speak of.  The best part to me was I found this package at 4:15 a.m. when I was up with my little dog Pablo.  I opened the front door to let him out and as I turned around to come back in, I found this box on my front porch.  It felt sort of like a dream.  I decided to open it and the card was filled with encouragement and thoughtful gifts, like this mug, the balance rock which I carried with me all day today in my pocket, a pretty blue glass star, two sea shells, a felt heart, a dried flower bud, herbal teas and a pretty purple lantern with some candles.  She included her phone number in the card and although we have been email friends for quite some time I had never heard her voice or talked to her on the phone.  This week I called her, told her my thanks over the phone, she has the sweetest, most kind voice and her entire pace seemed nice and slow and relaxed, it was like a slice of happy peace talking to her and she so reminds me of my other Indiana friend Angela.  Over the past few years it has been such a honor to meet some of my photographer friends, to learn from them to be inspired by their work and to in the meantime form unexpected friendships.  Another something to be grateful for.

9 thoughts on “Muesli for breakfast and coffee in the afternoon

    1. I’m grateful for you, for all the special women in my life. I think women friendships are vital to our lives. We encourage each other, we “get” each other and we learn from one another. I can’t wait for the day I meet you in person. And it was so very good to hear your voice the other night.

Leave a Reply

