little reminders

summer

Summer is almost here.  I can’t wait.  I feel like next week will feel full even though by mid-week school will be over, Abbie will have promoted onto middle school, Dylan will have promoted onto high school and Aus will have graduated into the world.  It will be a full short week.  I think I have been trying to find peace, trying to stay calm but mostly I manage to just stay busy and worry still, and feel anxious about unknowns.  I know it’s a human quality so I don’t worry too much about the human-ness of it all.  A good friend reminded me of grace, specifically God’s grace and as I was in a rush this morning, doing the dishes just so I could wash my hair in the sink and straighten up ever so slightly, I left without reading my study.

When I came home my mom was here in-between her appointments and I mentioned to her that my stomach hurt, sort of tied up in knots so she just so happened to have bought some tea and had it with her, tea that settles tummy’s.  What would I do without such a wonderful mama?  So I heated some water and drank my tea, feeling better I decided to read my study instead of nap, which is really what I wanted to do.  My scripture today was this and it’s a well-known scripture one of my favorites in fact.  It reads:

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.  (and that’s not the end of it)  It also goes on to read “Against such things there is no law.  Those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified sinful nature with its passions and desires.  Since we live by the Spirit, let us keep in step with the Spirit. Let us not become conceited, provoking and envying each other.”  This is found in Galatians 5:22-26  I remember its reference easy because 5:22 is our wedding anniversary

Such a great scripture to me, the beginning part alone if it were to be practiced regularly it would make for an amazing human being.  I want to practice each of these things but the second part reminds me that I can’t do this all by myself, I do it through the Spirit, I allow him to shine through me, this is how it works.  Not always easy but it’s called letting go and letting God. He knows where He is going, where he is taking me, I need not worry.  I just need to enjoy the ride.  Control get’s in the way, my control really gets in the way.   The self-control part is hard too.  Just sayin. Thank you for grace this girl needs it.

I guess sometimes these post I make are all over the place, a lot like my mind. And I like to keep changing the look of my page, like I like to re-arrange my furniture.  I like change.  certain change that is.  Almost Friday peeps!!

2 thoughts on “little reminders

  1. Hey peep… 🙂 I like your changes and wow, haven’t you got some big stuff coming up with your babies. Both they and you will be fine lovely Tracie. Enjoy the ride and let god drive for a while. Put your feet up on the dash, put your head back and enjoy the sunshine. Sending hugs and love your way. xox.
    Oh, and btw, it’s already Friday 10.52am here. 😉

Leave a Reply

