Blueberry Mint Smoothie YUM

IMG_5117

My mom loaned me her Vitamix, mixer.  This happened because we visited Rich’s friend Jim who   is very passionate about its awesome-ness and mad abilities. He shared some recipe ideas when we had our visit.  My wheels were spinning, I knew my mom had one of these, she is always so kind to loan out her stuff to me, so I asked.  She said yes!   I have a great mixer but I just wanted to take it out on loan and see what the rave was all about.  It does a very quick job of the mixing and grinding up of things, little quicker than our Ninja.  I’m very interested in making my own humus.

photo (1)

I forgot to mention another magazine I happen to love.  It’s called Whole Living and I had forgotten because my subscription ran out.  But I keep a lot of my old issues.  The January/February 2013 issue has a few smoothie and juice recipes I was interested in trying.  Today I tried the Blueberry Mint Smoothie.

 

I have a tiny little suburban garden, I grow mint in a pot.  I know it can grow crazy out of control so I keep it contained.

IMG_5089

I like this picture with my feet blurred out, I also took one all in focus but it wasn’t nearly as interesting.

The recipe calls for 1 cup frozen blueberries, these are from Trader Joes, no pesticides and stuff, probably why they are so tiny.

IMG_5101

1/2 Avocado, 1/2 cup fresh mint, 1 tsp lemon juice, I prefer freshly squeezed lemon and 1/2 cup water

IMG_5105

1/4 cup orange juice, I suppose you could juice this too but I used a store-bought with pulp

IMG_5112

This particular recipe doesn’t call for ice, but I like things icey, so I added a cup.

IMG_5114

I’m an ice snob and I buy bagged ice, it’s clear and prettier

 

This is how it looks in the mixer

IMG_5111

I love the pretty dark color it turned.  I also love the way it tasted.  Austin gave it a thumbs up but Dylan said it was too minty.  I suppose if you don’t like mint, you could skip this part.

IMG_5119

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Mint Smoothie YUM

  1. That looks so good!!!! I am in Arkansas at the moment and it is just as hot and humid as it was when you and all the family were here two years ago…..YIKES!!!! We don’t get an ocean breeze like we do in Newport Beach. I believe I will be making that drink while here. Glad you are enjoying VITA!

    Love you D-1

  2. That looks delicious, T! I don’t have a vitamix, just an old fashioned Waring blender, but the kids have been requesting smoothies lately. My latest recipe was a big hit – a few frozen bananas, 1/2c greek yogurt, 2tbl peanut butter and 1C Chocolate Coconut milk and enough ice to thicken. Not quite as good as a milkshake, but a pretty decent and much healthier alternative.

Leave a Reply

