A week of adventurous meals

photo (2)

I like shopping with this guy, he doesn’t even mind if I take pictures of our feet

I decided to pull out last years Everyday Food (summer special) this is the cutest, tiniest magazine.  A Martha Stewart publication and it’s pretty awesome.  My sweet Mama got me the subscription last year just cause.  She does that every so often because we both share a HUGE love of magazines.  I got my love of magazines from her, I’m pretty sure of it.  I grew up surrounded by stacks of them.  I often want to at least try one thing from certain magazines so it’s worth my while.  This time I tried a section called “Five Great Meals One Quick Trip”  the title reeled me straight in.  It included a shopping list and showed pictures of each meal.  I LOVE the pictures.  I reviewed the meals with Rich and Dylan (because they were the two around) and they were up for it!

Rich and I decided to run to Trader Joes and Vons to pick up all the ingredients for the entire week, Monday thru Friday.  This means I will be cooking every night this week and new, very different things from what I normally cook.  The menu is as follows:

photo (1)

 We cruised the yellow bug and loaded the back with GOOD FOOD

Mon:  Broiled Fish with Summer Salad

Tues:  Pork with Mozzarella and Tomato

Wed:  Grilled Steak and Vegetables

Thurs:  Zesty Pork Sandwiches

Fri:  Corn Chowder with Zucchini and Orzo

The grocery cost for all the ingredients was 87.06, this is for a family of 5 (we bought a little extra because all these meals were for serving size 4)  This averages out to 17.41 a meal and 3.48 a person.  I didn’t say it was cheap but it’s not too expensive for good food.  We have been severely tight in the past and I have been able to feed our family for like 99 cents a person but usually not the most nutritious meals.

photo (3)

Missing two cucumbers, cause I forgot to add them to table but I did buy them

I will take pictures of each meal and try and update throughout the week, if anyone cares (lol)  I like pictures so I think that’s important.  Plus I will tell you if it’s a thumbs up or down according to the family vote.

I wish you a good week, I wish you a healthy week, I hope you get to get out and move a little, go for a walk or something good for you, good for your body.  I’m set, I’m ready, I have not lost any weight really, in fact it’s that time of the month AGAIN.  I’m hopeful though and I feel better, my mental state feels better and I know it’s because I’m moving more.  I’m being much more intentional and I already have set a prize in sight after I lose my first 10 pounds.  It will be a LOVE t-shirt from my friend Lilly’s shop.  I  did decide to order some Herbalife, just one shake a day for breakfast, which will benefit me greatly since often I skip breakfast entirely. I even found an article Dr. Oz wrote about how beneficial a morning meal replacement shake can be for us non breakfast eaters.   The rest is up to me as far as making good choices for the rest of the day and fitting in healthy snacks between meals.

3 thoughts on “A week of adventurous meals

  1. Wow…sounds like a little publication I would love to get my hands on. I love the idea of 5 meals with 1 trip to the store. I’ve been really terrible at cooking this summer. I must subconsciously think I get the summer off too! I need some new recipes, so I can’t wait to see your thumbs up and down. and one more thing, lol…we are on the same cycle …weird. Be healthy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

