Golden

IMG_5222

I can never forget The scene in the Outsiders when Ponyboy recites Robert Frost’s Poem “Nothing Gold Can Stay”  to his buddy Johnny.  This was one of the first books I read all the way through, cover to cover. I loved it so much I made sure my first-born read it too.  Along with many other of my favorites.  He has always been game for reading a descent book.   I can’t help but to think of it often during the day’s golden light hour.  It’s one of my most favorite times of the day.  Everything looks so extra beautiful.  We have a wonderful view of the West from our backyard.  These are some of the things my eyes see.  

Nature’s first green is gold, 

Her hardest hue to hold. 

Her early leaf’s a flower; 

But only so an hour. 

Then leaf subsides to leaf. 

So Eden sank to grief, 

So dawn goes down to day. 

Nothing gold can stay. 

 

-Robert Frost-

IMG_5224

IMG_5215

IMG_5216

IMG_5219IMG_5220

IMG_5199

IMG_5212

IMG_5221

8 thoughts on “Golden

  1. The Outsiders is Tyler’s favorite movie, and he read the book when he was much younger. I love that part of the movie, when they are on their own, trying to survive. That movie is a treasure, and so are your pictures. I’m so happy to be able to look through your eyes, and see California again, even in glimpses. Love your blog~ Teri

  2. Love this. Love the golden hour. Love that movie…it helped define my growing-up a little bit, I think. And I had a Big crush on Motorcycle Man (from the movie…not yours), though I never read the book! I will go get it today! I’m a big fan of the way that your eyes see so much beauty in every day things. It helps me slow down and look myself. Thank you.

  3. I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills andd also wiith the layout on your weblog.

    Is this a paid theme or diid you customize it yourself?
    Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one these days.

Leave a Reply

