summer baking obsession and a little hope in the day

IMG_5367

I’m obsessed with summer baking.  This will be the third week in a row I have cranked my oven and made some home-baked goods on a warm summers day, two of which include zucchini from the garden.  Today was “chewy” zucchini brownies.  It passed the kid test.  Abbie said “Mom is there even zucchini in here?”  and Dylan just flat-out loved them.  I’ll put the recipe on my recipe page tomorrow when I have more time.  If you are interested come back and check.  I used a recipe found on the internet but always tweak them just a bit.

IMG_5365

Also today I made time to play in the sprinkler.  A photo friend of mine had a dream about our legs and running through the sprinklers in shorts without a care in the world.  Her dream inspired me to say the least so I first tried to photograph with my timer but that was way HARD, so then I recruited Dylan who did a nice job.  This picture was taken by him as we both laughed pretty hard.  He kept saying “mom! jump higher, your barely getting off the ground!”  This picture was exactly how it was photographed, his crop with my 50mm.

fun

Finally for today I leave you with HOPE, as my brownies baked I walked around the table and up and down my stairs and kept passing the roses whose petals were falling off and next to the vase of red roses was Abbie’s key necklace that reads hope.  There is always hope, no matter what.  As I walked and thought of my health and how although things are not happening very fast, they are happening from the inside out and I began to think of my gratitude and how I actually can walk, I also began to realize what a homebody I am and how I just love being in my own home, with food cooking and children’s voices.  I’m completely content right here, almost boringly so, I don’t need to get out much, so much I find right here inside these walls and in the boundaries of our own yard.  In fact I found a heart in the hardwood today as I walked for 25 minutes up and down those stairs. It’s a loose heart, blur your eyes and you will see it, I saw it each time I walked up the landing.

IMG_5345

IMG_5362

4 thoughts on “summer baking obsession and a little hope in the day

  1. I see the heart! Between the baking, the exercising, the kids and running through sprinklers, I can certainly understand why you love your home. You sound like me…I never needed a big circus to keep me happy…I’ve always been very content being home!

  2. Okay 1: Yummmmmo!
    2: Awesome pic of you running through the sprinkler. GO GIRL! And well done Dylan.
    3: I see the heart. 🙂
    And 4: I could happily be a hermit and stay at home with my little family and some close friends and be completely content with that. I hear you lady.
    Sounds like you are having fun. Good for you.

Leave a Reply

