Meatless Monday

I know it’s Thursday but been busy.  Monday was proclaimed…MEATLESS!

IMG_5394

Short but sweet.  My oldest has cut meat from his diet.  It’s been a while now.  His girl doesn’t eat any animal product at all.  This makes her a Vegan.  I bought a book to further educate myself on the vegan lifestyle just last week.  So far it’s amazing how many things contain animal products and I had no idea.  Sounds silly to say I know but even down to tattoo ink!  So the book was worth the 7 bucks.

veagan

I decided in support of my first-born son I would prepare Monday night meals without meat.

IMG_5376

This past Monday was angel hair pasta with a homemade sauce with ingredients mostly from my garden, red zeppelin onions, zucchini, tomatoes (also from my mother-n-laws garden) olive oil, olives and fresh garlic.  I also made a veggie packed salad and bought a French loaf.

IMG_5381

The week before that I tried a recipe that had been going around FB. It included zucchini, tomato, potato, onion, garlic and olive oil, it’s baked and it’s delicious.  Oh, yeah.  And LOTS OF CHEESE.

IMG_5369

IMG_5374

5 thoughts on “Meatless Monday

  1. That looks absolutely delicious! My friend’s daughter is a vegetarian and I went over and made her a few very simple things, as my friend was running out of ideas. One is called Texas caviar. It’s a cold mixture of black-eyed peas, corn, tomatoes, etc., to be eaten with tortilla chips (although I often eat it without). There are tons of recipes for it. The other thing I made is caprese salad. She absolutely loved them both.

    I know there are more complex and skillfully made vegetarian/vegan dishes out there, but I loved these specifically because they are so easy to make and therefore, easy for a teenager to throw together.

      1. it’s good stuff! I make it to take for lunch sometimes. It will feed my husband and I for several days. I bring along just a few corn chips and eat the rest with a fork.

  2. i was a vegetarian years ago, recently returned to it. sometimes, it’s difficult, but i FEEL better. it’s pretty awesome that you’re doing this in support of your son : )

Leave a Reply

