It’s okay to be a dreamer

dreamer

The strangest thing happened last night.  I feel asleep watching t.v. by 9:30, that felt very nice but by midnight I was wide awake.  So I got up.  I scratched and peeled and picked of course because that’s what I have trained my hands to do in times of desperation.  I typically will sit in quiet and journal, talk to God, read His words but this night I decided to turn on the t.v.  I switched the channel to PBS because the title caught my eye “Mind over Medicine” I don’t like medicines very much and I know some of us need them but I don’t like them. So when I see a show about healing without medicine I’m intrigued.  The short story was…. through a serious of questions we can diagnose ourselves, write our own prescription in a sense.  For instance if one is in a toxic relationship, one has the choice to get out, if one has a dream to be an artist, one has the choice to begin to paint or draw and follow that dream, if one has a dream of moving away from the city, one has that choice.  And time and time again there were stories shared of people who followed their hearts direction and their skin allergies, their headaches, their insomnia and even things as severe as cancer were flipped around and the symptoms disappeared.  Scripture can even back up the power of positive thinking.

Philippians 4:8 Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.

Proverbs 17:22 A joyful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.

I personally know one of my best friends whose life has dramatically changed in the past few years because of her bravery and her willingness to make change.

My brave desire has more to do with leaving the city, living simply, practicing my photography and even a bigger dream than that would be to contribute to a magazine or even write a book one day.  I hold myself back because fear is a major component, change is another and so I stay quietly where I am because I know it, it’s comfortable. I’m a dreamer, a big dreamer and maybe if I figure out how to follow those dreams because none are too outlandish then maybe I would begin to feel less anxiety and in following my dreams I could glorify my maker, I could share my testimony with others and they too could see that everything really is possible, but not alone for me it’s through Philippians 4:13 I can do all things through him who strengthens me.   It’s a process, it truly is and sometimes it takes time.  We can’t do it alone and we can’t just sit and do nothing.  It will take action, it will take faith, it will take courage but it’s not out of the question and it’ s not out of reach.

2 thoughts on “It’s okay to be a dreamer

  1. Tracie!!!!!!!!! We just went over Proverbs 17:22 in church on Sunday! There are times you definitely know God is speaking to you (me). When he repeats himself through different ways and people, it’s truly amazing. I am in awe of you and reading your entries inspire me to seek God even more. I love you friend!

    1. You are one of my longest friends and when I read your comments I get so excited about our connecting in Christ again, like when we used to meet up for weekly studies or even before that when you and I had our little babies, breastfeeding and praying and doing devotions with each other. We have always been such great support to each other as sisters in Christ and it’s a bond that can’t be broken, in fact it can only grow stronger. I love you.

Leave a Reply

