It’s fall and fall can feel new

I need 18 more readers and voting will be closed by October 2nd but so far we have a clear winner and honestly I don’t see many more votes coming in but one never knows.  It’s the one thing I thought for sure wouldn’t win. And the one thing I thought would get the most votes barely got any.  Isn’t that the way life goes!  I’m wondering how much time I have to prepare myself before that 100th reader subscribes, it could be months…who knows?

paperIn the meantime I tried my wood photo transfer this weekend and I don’t have the patience to deal with it.  The image was coming off along with the paper and I’m sure if I had more time I would experiment with different papers and different techniques.  I think it will be as simple as having my images put on a foam board.

wood trans

Aside from that, I made the conscious effort to NOT read Emma this weekend knowing the month was quickly coming to an end and the deal was to read this book in one month’s time.  I joined that book club and I wanted to try something new.  I ended up realizing the book wasn’t so bad at all.  I actually found myself giggling at some points.  However it’s not what I call an easy read (not for me at least) and it’s not what I call a book I can’t put down.  So the book is due in a few days and I’m thinking the movie sounds like a swell idea.  That too would be something I normally wouldn’t do….watch a movie like Emma.

emma                                                   That’s me, not really reading Emma

Do you know what I did instead of reading?  I finished the first season of Mad Men!  It’s for sure my new obsession.  Ask anyone who knows me really well, I’m always obsessed with something, it’s normally short lived and completely involved.  I do see myself finishing the series on this one though, it’s just too good not to.  And Audrey , I did make it to the carrousel episode and let’s just say Mr. Don Draper nailed it.  I was like “yep, that’s what photos are all about, exactly!”  He does have a heart after all.

don draper quote

Also I didn’t just watch episode after episode, I decided my fall is a time of NEW.  Fall arrives and  and things feel new again,  the school year begins, new routines work themselves out so why not clean a little and feel that feeling of change/new/.  I’m the queen of clutter; well some would call me that.  I like to say I’m very, very sentimental.  Debbie ,   I still have the fall leaves you mailed me a few years ago in the same glass jar. So I save things, like leaves, shells, feathers, dried flowers, rocks and you know those sorts of things.  So I had to take lots of deep breaths and release a few things.  The leaves were not one of them.  I like to stack books, magazines, papers and leave pens out so I can write a note on a whim.  I have to admit even more than my children,  I’m the biggest contributor for the messes in our home.  My dining table I usually fill, full of mostly my stuff. It takes me a great deal to keep things in order once I get them in order, It’s basically a hamster wheel (neat, piled, picked up, dumped)  I am what I am as much as I try and be the organized, live simple kind of gal….I’m just not made that way.  I can admit though it feels good, like a big deep breath and I’m sure I can keep it this way for at least a few days!

clean

Check out that clear table, even the top of the hutch is less cluttered

roundempty for now but soon to be filled

And last but for sure not least….the pumpkin, it continues to grow!

pumpkin day 28.

6 thoughts on “It’s fall and fall can feel new

  1. I adore you. Really I do. I just caught up again on your blog and it looks like life is good.Congrats on the moo cards they are awesome! Fall is my favorite season and I love the idea on printing your photos on different mediums. I enjoy visiting here, always and really don’t know why I don’t get over more often? I’ll work on that :).

  2. I love your wood transfer project but I get frustrated pretty easily so it is probably not something I should try to take on! Your dining room looks straight out of a magazine. Also like you, I am our biggest contributor of messes in our household! I have personally ruined our dining room table by always forgetting to lay down newspaper when I start a project and it is layered with dry varnish, paint , modgepodge etc. I keep thinking I should replace it but I know I would just ruin that one too!

    1. Oh my goodness, I have not heard that my dining room looks straight out of a magazine, that’s pretty awesome to hear! In usual mom form, my table too if you look real close up, has paint stains, rings where water has sat too long, little grooves and scratches but I find that as a sign of living full and as I would imagine you live nice and full over there with your three darlings and I’m not planning to replace my floors or tables until the kids are well grown and on their way. Thank you for leaving me a note. I love to wake up to these comments.

  3. Hey you. I was going to try one of those wood transfer things, but may just leave it for now 🙂 I am really getting into Mad Men now too, although am still getting through Season 1. My house seriously needs a spring clean, but one needs the energy to do that and I am seriously lacking at the moment. Your house looks lovely BTW.

Leave a Reply

