Sun Daisy and Moon Rose, their story condensed

39 of my 43 years have been blessed with a one of a kind forever sort of friendship.  I moved into this little condominium complex when I was just 4.  We were unloading our furniture when a little girl with the biggest most expressive brown eyes ran up to me and said “I haven’t seen you in such a long day!”  She apparently had been waiting for me to show up.  And this is why mama Georgia believes we were friends in another life. The little girl’s name was Ronda Lee…no H in this Ronda!

little usI had to hold the kitty cause according to me…she didn’t know how to properly do it

Ronda and Tracie basically grew up together and basically know about everything there is to know about each other, its border line scary.  They can just look at each other and know what the other one is thinking. Really it’s true!

streetOh and the stories there are so many stories about these two.  So many I can’t possibly list them all here or it would be a mini novel.  I wish I could tell you all the details of how Tracie saved Ronda’s life one day as they sat up on the trunk portion of the big convertible drinking their Icee’s and enjoying the wind on their faces when Ronda nearly fell off the back of the car, so Tracie naturally pulled her to safety…only their cherry red Icee’s ended up all over the back seat of the pretty white car and it wasn’t so much about the heroic act as it was about the mess they made in the back seat.  They were always in trouble for something, like the time they broke the glass music box and snuck it to Mama Georgia’s house so they could have her glue it back together so Mama Linda wouldn’t “know any better”  or the time they were eating those suckers they weren’t supposed to have when Tracie’s cap broke off and Ronda thought Elmer’s glue would do the trick, or the time they decided they had had enough and packed the red wagon to run away but only made it to the swimming pool at the complex before deciding to return home, or the time Ronda cleaned up the oil spot on the garage floor with mama Linda’s new designer white jeans.  Yep. Those are just a few of the things that went on in those days. rtIn those days it was okay to send your little people off to school, to walk through the vacant field and climb under the fence to get to class, or take the alternate longer route that passed a 7-11 where the little redhead and girl with the brown eyes would peel old already chewed gum off the sidewalk and chew gravel filled gum on their way to school. Or the arguments the girls would get into with boys like Tony Baloney and Brad who insisted babies come out of their mom’s vaginas while Ronda and Tracie were insistent that girls pooped babies out.  Like what do boys know anyways!

red blackRonda and Tracie didn’t really like their given names so Tracie insisted that Ronda call her Rose and so Ronda decided on Daisy for herself.  These same girls had a heated argument from across the street from each other (Daisy lived on one side of the street while Rose lived on the other) Oh Rose was so mad, she had to call Miss Daisy anything but Ronda or Daisy, so she shouted something like “I hate you Pee Pee Head!”  Miss Rose started that fight but Miss Daisy won the fight when her comeback was “I hate you Poo Poo head!”  This stopped Rose in her tracks, she couldn’t think of one more word worse than that!

outside hangingLater on when these two little girls grew up they still stayed friends, even when Daisy’s parents moved her all the way to San Diego where Rose had to take the train to visits during the summer months or Daisy’s Dad would pick her up on his way home from his job so the two girls could spend some time together. Ronda’s dad always referred to them as the beatnik and hippie.   And even later when Daisy moved in with her grandparents on Rose’s side of town where they were thrilled to be so close again.

renneAnd even later than that when they decided they should be roommates and live in the same complex Daisy’s Italian grandparents managed.  Where Grandma Della would sneak in and leave them homemade pizza on their kitchen counter to make sure they were being fed.  And just like when they were little and would watch Lavern and Shirley and Ronda would say, “I’m Shirley and you’re Lavern” and Tracie would say “okay, I’m alright with that” and when they lived together…Ronda was Shirley and Tracie was Lavern and Tracie was more than okay with it but Ronda had a lot of picking up to do for the both of them.

mobileThese two knew each other so well yet they were kind of different.  Ronda decided that she was the sun and Tracie was the moon because that’s how different they were from each other.  Ronda was full of sunshine while Tracie was a little more gloomy.  Ronda wrote poems about happy things while Tracie wrote poems about sad things. Ronda loved her Moody Blues, Grateful Dead and John Denver while Tracie loved Led Zeppelin,  the Cure and  John Lennon but they both agreed fully on the Doors of course. Sometimes they would sit for hours on end at the tops of parking structures reading philosophy and talking about life’s purpose making short films (lost films) Ronda loved to sing and dance, while Tracie liked to take it all in.

pizza makingThere is so much more to say about these two but it’s already far too long for most people to want to keep reading.  They are grown-ups now, they both are still very different and at the same time very much alike.  Somewhere along the way Ronda taught Tracie to not be so gloomy and even though she is the moon, she is a big bright full moon now!  One thing that hasn’t change that will never change is the love they have for on another.  There is nothing quite like it.

rainus jump

14 thoughts on “Sun Daisy and Moon Rose, their story condensed

  1. This is a beautiful piece about friendship. Not only did I read to this to the end but I read it twice. The photos are heart-warming and your love for your friend is palpable in your very entertaining descriptions of your life together…

    I enjoy your blog a lot. There are very few blogs–or books for that matter–that I read cover-to-cover. I am a fussy reader which makes me sound like a snob but really it’s just that I’ve read a lot in my life and now find few authors that captivate me. Your bubbly stream-of-consciousness style is intriguing because despite its perpetual light-heartedness it touches on significant subjects in very profound and engaging ways. It’s really lovely.

    1. Oh Viv, this means so much to me. Thank you for writing out your thoughts on what I wrote about and my blog in general. It blew my mind to be honest that my writing could keep anyone interested. I try so hard not to be long winded because I know time is important to people and reading through long blogs can be difficult to get through. I love to include lots of pictures because that’s how I best like to read things…I love books with pictures. I’m still a big fan of children’s books because of the illustrations. If there are cookbooks without pictures forget it. I need a visual so I try to put lots with my words. I have been patiently waiting for you to blog since I first found you. Much love to you.

  2. MoonRose,
    Your chosen vocabulary is imaginative and fanciful, like I am living it for the first time. Our memories, and experiences are unmatched and our friendship is cherished. You have always been my teacher, my guide, my rock and my kindred spirit. I feel so blessed to have you in my heart on this lifelong journey. One thing you didn’’t clarify, is the reason why you are the moon to me, not because you are “gloomy”, but because you always had the ability to sit quietly and let me shine on the happy world, letting me receive gracious credit to all those awake and alive. You…Humbly, lovingly and continually, after most fall asleep, ARE always there to shine love and guide the souls that lost their way, consistently putting other’s first. You carry the weight of the world for all of those in your life. You, my dear MoonRose, are a gift to humanity… to me. I love you, so very much.
    Love to the Moon and back,
    SunDaisy

    1. SunDaisy, you just made me cry. But in the very best of way. I’m sort of at a loss for written words…which is strange. You have such a wonderful way with words and I feel as if you have taught me so much about this life we live and your example has always been something for me to aspire to. I still have the poem of course you wrote to me about you being the sun and me being the moon. It’s special to me. We have such a gift in the longevity of our friendship. It’s a very rare thing now a days. I thank our parents for making our friendship a priority even with the distance that was between us. I love you.

  3. This is such a beautiful story of friendship. You 2 are very lucky. 🙂 I did write a response to this last week, but the site kicked me out and I was too busy to go back and write it again. (Nasty wordpress!!!). Loved the pics and the wonderful story to go along with it.

Leave a Reply

