day four

mark twain

I will be the first to admit, I’m not well versed in literature.  I struggle reading books like Huckleberry Finn and   Emma by Jane Austen.  These are not easy for me to read and although I’m branching out.  I don’t know too much about this stuff.  So this weekend Dylan and I spent hours, upon hours invested in Mark Twain’s Huckleberry Finn.  We would discuss each chapter as it was completed.  It opened things up for discussion.  That picture up there is a slice of Dylan when he had longer hair and that quote on top the picture is a quote we heard in church on Sunday the very next day after we had spent hours in Mark Twain’s words.  Dylan and I just looked at each other and smiled!

listeningWe made our first camp in the kitchen, were Dylan listened and listened and we talked and talked. 

Then after discussing what we had done this weekend with my Dad, he tells me Mark Twain’s real name, and what a mark twain actually was? Real name Samuel Clemens and mark twain is a measurement, Wow.  I have so much to learn still and I’m already 43!  I didn’t go to college, I hated high school but it’s never too late to keep learning. I’m not too proud either to admit I don’t know these things in fact I find it exciting when I have an opportunity to learn aside my children, it feels so special.  I know my blog is full of grammar errors and misspelt words at times and I’m okay with that also because for me it’s more about the moment, the heart and feeling good about just getting it out there.  I know I’m not alone in this.  There has to be others who also have never read Mark Twain and didn’t even know that was his pen name.  I’m never alone and I always find comfort in this.

more listeningSecond camp, slightly more comfortable.  More listening and talking, even Max was intrigued.  Austin said, “Mom, it’s nice you are helping Dylan and all but this book was made to be read in two months not two days”  I told Austin anything was possible.  It’s the way I did things when I was in school, last-minute and crammed in.  Sort of still do.

 You see today I’m thankful for the opportunity of continuous learning and when the quote was said out loud at church yesterday I have to be honest, I teared up just a little because I think I’m slowing figuring out why I was born.  The example in church was that Christ himself knew exactly why he was born; his entire life was all about it.  I hope my children figure out why sooner than it took me.  I know I have a gift of encouragement, I know I have a gift for listening.  I also know I have a gift to express moments in my photography, people have told me for years and I have never believed them but there must be something to it.  I don’t have the best equipment when it comes to photography but that also doesn’t matter because I have the eyes I was blessed with and they see things.  I should never take that for granted.  I should actually instead do something with it.  Slowly ever so slowly I’m getting there.  Getting to where I was born to be.  Just a slow learner that’s all.

12 thoughts on “day four

  1. oh, lovely, lovely lady. what a gift, to dylan and to yourself, all the hours you spent listening together. investing in your learning, through time together. how wonderful. we all learn our lessons when it’s our time, maybe you were meant to learn about mark twain with dylan. and those eyes. . . YES. they see things. beautiful things. thank you for sharing what you see with us.

  2. I haven’t read aloud with my kids since they were old enough to read on their own, Funny, just yesterday I was thinking about a teacher I had in public school that used to read to us – the Roald Dahl books and C.S. Lewis. I should try it with them again. I remember seeing so much more in my head when someone was reading the book out loud. Sounds like a great way to spend time together.

    1. Heidi, my kids even my oldest who is 18 likes to hear me read to them. It’s so fun and you are so right, as someone else reads aloud we can create that vivid image in our head of that story. I have such great memories of my mom reading to me and teachers too. I love James and the Giant Peach, one of our favs! I remember it’s when my oldest learned a new word when he was tiny…spectacles. He had no idea that was just another word for glasses.

  3. You have many gifts lovely lady. But your gift of seeing things, oh yes, it is a wonderful one. One on one time with one of your boys…. ahhhh these are special times. I love these. xo

  4. American Literature was never my favorite genre in college, preferring British Lit. instead (I majored in English), but Mark Twain has always been one of my favorite authors. I must’ve read “Tom Sawyer” ten times at least when I was growing up (and maybe you should read that one together next! It’s a goodie)!

  5. Tracie, this made me tear up a bit.”Getting to where I was born to be.” This is so awesome. You do have so many gifts and I am so proud to call you my friend! xoxo

Leave a Reply

