Day Eight and the Moon People

You see, yesterday on the 8th, I got up, I went to work.  The usual.  Only I knew that when I got home from work that I would be meeting up with the Moon People.  So who are the moon people one might ask?  Not to be confused with Sun Daizy with a Z, we have Moon Daisy with an S, there is the original Moonspinner, Moon Mama and Moonchild.  It just sort of happened, all the Moon stuff.  Miss Moonspinner had made this fabulous stamp a long while back, inspired by one of her favorite movies.  I have been faithful pen pals with my cousin for sometime now.  When she made that fabulous stamp and told me how much she liked real live mail, I knew I just had to start writing her notes to be delivered at the time to her charming P.O. box under the name Miss Moonspinner.  Fast forward to a glamping trip I took with Miss Moonspinner, her mom (my Aunt) and a group of gals.  I drove up with Miss Moonspinner and a new friend who I immediately felt a bond, she had me at her V.W. bus so anyway we talked all the way on the drive and I thought my new friend, she needs a Moon name cause she was after all driving with two Moon people.  Her name became Moon Daisy.  I named myself Moonchild a long time ago when I began the letter writing, I always tell my little girl to never lose her childlike wonder, so I try very hard to stay connected to some child wonder in my life…thus Moonchild.  But then we had the leader of our pack, my Aunt and so when I finally got around to making her a photo book of that glamping trip, I called her Moon Mama.  There  are some other Moons in this bunch but on this day, the four moons went out on a shopping trip.

moon trip

It was getting dark (daylight savings you know) so it’s a little murky but we thought this manhole lid looked a bit like full moons with stars. It seemed very appropriate.  

Miss Moon Daisy brought me sweet flowers from her garden and we packed inside the jeep and headed off for our half day of adventure.  I thought I had left my cell phone behind so I made a right instead of a left and Miss Moonspinner called my phone which was just in my pocket, I had not forgotten it at all.  But this just meant we had to make a U-turn and the Moon People have a saying, also originated by the spinner and her mama, “it’s not a road trip unless there are at least two U-turns”  and we began the trip with lots of laughter.

IMG_6565

Squint your eyes just a little, think outside the box, dont’ these flowers make the shape of a heart?  That’s what I see.

IMG_6575

And the note read “I pray we get to play for many moons”

We got to the city I grew up in and we visited  some of my favorite places and some new places even, places like  Oh Hello Friend, Share & Do Good of course  and a new bakery to me called Layer Cake Bakery + Cafe where Miss Moon Mama treated us to coffee and Miss Moon Daisy ordered tomato soup which came with the most yummy warm bread.  We talked, we laughed even more and then we visited a few more vintage shops and headed home.  We had so much fun that we decided we should meet the second Friday of each month for mini half day trips.  We all have hours that allow for mid day fun.  Miss Moonspinner got really silly and said we should meet on each full moon, we thought in theory it was a great idea but since we all don’t like to stay up too late that probably wouldn’t work out as well.

layer cake

The bakery.  I will be going back, that’s for sure.  

photo (3)

Miss Moonspinner also plays in the treehouse with mustard club with me, yesterday was FEET we couldn’t pass up a foot shot together, and what do you know three hearts spotted on the sidewalk as we made our way to Layer Cake

I’m grateful for fun girl day outings, the kind that are full of laughter, good stories and food of course. 

heart giftedI came home to a gift, an unexpected gift.  Those are the best kind, then I put this mark twain quote with it because it seemed just right.  Funny how much Mark Twain has been popping out at me since we read Huck Finn. 

5 thoughts on “Day Eight and the Moon People

  1. Oh I miss girl-outings like this one! Sound so much fun and I love the way hearts just suddenly seem to pop out of nowhere in your photos. See? Love is following you around, Tracie! Isn’t that a lovely thought? xxx

    1. It’s a very lovely thought Dean. I’m thinking love is just about everywhere and once we start seeing it, it just keeps popping up, like all over in the strangest places even. I think T and you would be great heart hunters.

  2. Oh you crazy gal. Your stories always make me smile and this one almost made me smile with a few happy tears. My best friend and I don’t see so much of each other these days and I miss these girl times. Your story here is beautiful and I love all the love you see. I see it everywhere too and totally see your flower heart. If I stand on my head and close one eye and hold me breath, I totally see it. 🙂 Just kidding I see it just fine. I have one of a black heart on the footpath similar to yours above, straight across from house and I forgot to post it, so may just instagram it now, or save it for you know what! Love you Miss T. xo Oh we are going to have fun.

Leave a Reply

