Day Eleven Veteran’s Day 2013

“Freedom is never free.” -Author Unknown

IMG_2575

It’s hard for me on this day to not acknowledge the men and women who have served our country to give us Freedom.  Last year on this day I honored my Father-n-law and his father.  Rich has his dad’s tags and one year I took a picture of Rich holding his Dad’s army tags, we gave this photograph to my father-n-law as a gift one year.  It prompted the picture above.  We thought it would be nice to have both of them in one image with each of their father’s tags.  The sun was too golden that day. I would love to have a re-take maybe on a more overcast day, like the day I took the image below.

5440514292_b746649705_b

I remember one time being on the metro with some of my photo friends and we saw two men and they had this bond, I thought they knew each other but found however they had just met on the Metro but because they were both Marines they had an instant connection. A rare brotherhood.  I was really fortunate to be on the metro with my friends Staci and Meg because they have a gift for striking up conversations with strangers.  They began talking and I began listening and this is what I found out.  The younger fellow fought in Afghanistan and was shot in the back and told he would never walk again, yet here he was on the Metro in L.A.  The older gentlemen was a Viet Nam Vet he told us he had a large bayonet scar across his belly and three bullet wound scars. He also showed us his tattoo representing his three kills. We all thanked them as we got off for serving and I couldn’t resist, I asked for a photograph as I was getting off the train, they put their arms around each other and this is what I got. I wish I had asked their names.  When I see officers in uniform, I usually get just a little teary eyed, it means that much to me.  It’s important to thank them.  They put their lives on the line for our freedom.

5166803091_b48c1bda43_b

8 thoughts on “Day Eleven Veteran’s Day 2013

  1. I remember last years post and pics, loved them. I love the new one as well, Everything you do is done with such a big heart and this is another wonderful tribute to all of those who serve to keep us safe and free.

  2. beautiful photos… i love the story of the two men on the train. i am so glad you took their photo. there is indeed a bond there and you captured it perfectly.

Leave a Reply

