day fourteen life and jerry

6384177415_fa4b47a4c0_bI’m thankful for life.  It’s the biggest gift I have received here on earth, besides the gift of eternal life.  This comes to me after we lost a good friend and co-worker last night.  Why is it, well at least for me that when someone leaves here that I begin to especially appreciate my life for a time.  I want to say I appreciate it every single moment but the truth of the matter is, I get wrapped up sometimes in the day-to-day.  Silly things like when the last to be born and only girl couldn’t find her P.E. shorts this morning and we were running a little late, or when the cat vomits on the wood floor and I step in it, or the washing machine gets off-balance and I need to re-start it a few times, spilling coffee on my pants, the remote control running out of battery, or the kids leaving t.v. on game mode.  Yes, silly trivial things.  They get me off kilter.  My goal is to find a slice of beauty, a gift in the everyday, this helps very much.  It helps when I can stop what I’m doing, in the middle of all of the silly trivial things and just pray.  Take a moment to slow down and remember who is in control.  This helps but in all my human-ness I still have blue days, I still have irritating days when I forget how blessed I am just to be alive. And when catastrophe hits most recently the Philippines then how do I have the right to gripe about the batteries being dead in the remote control? Instead let me take the focus off me for a tiny bit and gather all the clothes the kids have outgrown and take them to our neighbor, the soccer players best friend whose family is sending a large box of supplies to their friends and family who are there in the Philippines right now.  Or donate to Philippine Red Cross even if it were just one dollar, can you imagine if everyone just gave one dollar?

IMG_1285

I’m not going to write about Jerry here in this space.  I was asked to write about him at work today, something to send out to friends in our industry, other co-workers.  It was my honor to write a little something about a very special man.  I’m just going to say here in this space that it was my privilege to know such a forthright man.

5997729189_b3e0b89fbd_bToday, it’s life.  I’m thankful for life and I’m thankful for Jerry.

5621981835_315665fe92_b

12 thoughts on “day fourteen life and jerry

  1. I’m sorry for your loss.

    I have a theory that helps me…we all have a “best before date” tattooed on us somewhere; only God knows what that date is…I have faith in His master plan and like your gratitude for today, live life every day to its fullest.

    Thank you for this heartfelt post. The photos are perfectly matched to your words. Connie 😃

  2. Oh Miss Tracie. I’m so sorry for your loss. I hope the coming days find things a little lighter for you.
    It is so easy to get sucked in to day to day frustrations isn’t it and lose focus on the bigger picture. I do it all the time, and then sometimes get in these funks where I take it out on those around me too. It’s not their fault, it’s not my fault, it just happens. The old saying that we need stop and smell the flowers is very true. Stop, slow down, breathe and just be. Your images above are beautiful. I love the paper hearts on the string. Take care my friend. xox

  3. My husband and I call it small joys … We try to focus on the small joys, especially when things get a little bit rough. Thank you so much for thinking about the Philippines and for donating. You have a lovely heart, as always. xx

  4. Your beautiful photographs compliment your lovely reflections. I’m sorry for your loss.

    My husband and I have been talking this week about which avenue to take to help those in the Philippines. Let’s pray that many will step up to help the afflicted. Yesterday I read a headline that said there is a lot of looting going on because people are feeling desperate. This morning during my prayers I had a revelation that when we extend help to those there who are suffering, not only do we fulfill needs and provide comfort-but we might also help someone who would be otherwise tempted, to resist sin.

Leave a Reply

