2013 at a glance

januaryI remember the very first day of January we spotted a hawk sitting on the fence across the street.  I was intrigued and saw two more perched in the same month, two odd spots…a tall light pole and a building top. I see them in flight lots but rarely do I spot them sitting still and grand they caught my attention for sure.  I wondered if there was meaning in the sightings?  We went on winter walks, we had a little rain we focused on our new word for the year, mine LOVE, littlest and only girl’s word was positive.

februaryFebruary always full of love!  I had my very first fancy coffee with my love and crossed one more thing off my dream list. I remember February being a month filled with walks, even with my oldest boy.  My legs I have noticed are the very best in February.  Since it will be my 5th year entering 2014, I have seen a pattern and February always gives me hope and shows promise.

marchIn March we always get giddy over the daffodils.  I fill my home with them over and over again until they stop selling them in tiny closed bunches.  This has gone on now for maybe 3 or so years.  A newer tradition.  I did a lot of reminiscing on my blog and picked up an awesome old school enlarger for only 25.00, all the trays and canisters and began dreaming of a future darkroom where I could once again develop my own film.  We played in the mud and Abbie turned another year older.

aprilIn April we began to plan for our Spring garden. The oldest became a man!  Talk about reminiscing!  We also had many of his baby videos transferred to dvd so he could finally see all the memories we had talked about.  I went on my first women’s retreat.  We paid taxes and planted a tree for each of our children.

mayMay always brings flowers! I found the most adorable shop in Fullerton and met an old friend who gave me an opportunity to show my art in her shop when the fall came.  I walked with some amazing women, survivors and brave warriors. Oh and I turned one more year older.

juneIn June our garden began to show promise. June was a very, very busy month for us.  We had our oldest graduate high school and get his very first car (the little yellow bug) our other two promoted into middle school and into high school.  We had dance recitals, school dances and  parties. Sadly my only other living grandfather passed away in this month. Yet still life goes forward and we began to get very, very excited for our summer ahead. We could taste it!

julyJuly came with lots of freedom, finding treasures, lemonade stands, mother daughter tea, a pool that literally busted at the seems, plumbing that went really wrong.  However the garden grew, hearts were spotted everywhere, we made trips to the beach and I joined a morning workout group and found some really great new friends.

augustAugust was the month we played very hard.  We took some time off and kept it local but being we are from California, keeping it local can still come with lots of fun.  We had beach trips by the handfuls, we hit up the fair, we took the kids parasailing, video arcades, ice-cream, summer hikes, sunflowers and raspberries, fancy movie theater, singing in the car and still meeting my workout buddies three times a week, very, very early in the morning. We enjoyed lots of fresh produce, we smiled a lot, our skin collected a few more freckles and sun beams.  Best of all my little sister and her two babes came back from France to live here in California once again.  Remembering August has me realizing I do love summer, lots.

septemberIn September we planted pumpkins for the fall (that didn’t fare so well) The soccer player and littlest and only girl got ready for their new schools,  I joined a book club and tried to read Jane Austen, I had my postcards made for the future art show, I experimented in wood transfers, began to watch Mad Men (basically became obsessed by it) grandpa visited me in a dream.   The soccer player turned another year older and sadly the oldest had a car crash on the very day soccer player turned one year older. Old familiar routines began to take their shape.

octoberIn October I cooked and baked a lot.  It was still relatively warm in our parts but I still yearned to make soups, cookies and pies.  Motorcycle man turned another year older, we visited Arizona for the memorial of my grandpa and saw my grandma who I had not seen in years, the boys worked on the bug, we experienced our very first Indy race courtesy of my dad who went all out on our seats, with pit passes and a meal.  Littlest and only girl tried out for her  new school cheer team and MADE IT,  Soccer player was conditioning for soccer and we were still getting comfortable with our fall routines.

november

November being the month of gratitude I had so much to be grateful for, my very first art show the very first Friday of November.  I high-lite of my year for sure.  God is so good the way he works, I’m grateful to be his child and to have the privilege to witness his every day miracles and even when things don’t seem to be going our way, God has a plan and time and time again I have seen these plans come into full bloom usually when I’m least expecting it. We sadly lost a friend and co-worker in the month of November.  We saw the most amazing rainbow in November, we celebrated our gratitude with our thanksgiving feasts and as I reflect back on the year I’m reminded that although it wasn’t always smooth sailing, we learned from the imperfect days and it had us really appreciating the really good ones.

decemberDecember is here and there are 2 days left until Christmas.  I can’t believe yet again how quickly the year flew by.  My word for 2013 was LOVE, I figured if I just loved, showed love and demonstrated love that things would feel perfectly right and they did for the most part.  Jesus walked this earth in LOVE and one reference I can give is found in Mark 12:28-31 it’s that simple.  I always think to myself if everyone just LOVED how beautiful life would be.  It’s an action word and love can transform and change, it’s just a beautiful thing.  Speaking of change, this year my word is CHANGE. I’m constantly learning and my life can use change, I can take better care of myself, my body is a gift and I often mistreat it.  It would be a good thing to strive to take better care of it.  I don’t want to list all the changes that can be made, I should just focus on one change a month as to not overwhelm myself.  I’m  good at overwhelming myself.  Maybe I should change that!  What are your plans for 2014?  Do you have a word for the year?  I would love to hear about it.

8 thoughts on “2013 at a glance

  1. Tracie,
    it is so wonderful to read about your year. I’m sorry that I have missed many of these special moments. Your sister moved back from France?! You must be soo excited! I love that I get to read the summarized version here, and your images are so beautiful!! Much love to you lady, and a very Merry Christmas! xoxoxo, andrea

  2. What a lovely look back at 2013. Well I don’t have a word for the year, but I would change one of the same things as you. Not overwhelming myself and taking on too many things. I’m hopeless for it. Here’s to the new year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

