words and peace

8173778316_fb5541ebfe_b

I believe in words
I believe in getting them out
I believe in reading them
I believe they heal
I believe we need them
I find comfort in them
I find peace in them

by: me

In November 2012, I took a workshop called Digging Deeper with Meredith Winn and  Kristin Zecchinelli, This class was a second course to NOW YOU and it was a gift, literally, two gals were picked to take this course free of charge. I was one of the two.  It was a gift in more ways than one and it challenged me as a photographer because one of our challenges was to take a self-portrait in public.  This can feel strange and uncomfortable but it helped slightly that I choose to be surrounded by books in a library, it’s a place where I just automatically feel at ease.  I sat down in-between the two book cases. I sat up my iPhone, much less obvious than a big camera and I used the app called camera+, in this app I have the option to set a timer.  So I did and this is the image that my phone captured with cropping and editing of course.  I decided it would also be a good time to write a poem about how I felt on this day and almost every day to be honest.  I’m really looking forward to growing as a photographer in 2014.  I was invited to a new blog which will include about 28 other really, really, really talented women.  I’m still wondering how I got into this group? I’m hoping this too will grow me as a photographer to be surrounded by talent and talent I can also learn from.   The blog has a name, it has a theme but I will share that when it get’s up and running.  I love projects, especially photo projects.  I will continue at a snail’s pace my project with my cousin.  I call it coloring with my cousin.  I also will have one more project with a dear friend who lives all the way across the globe from me and her days are always one ahead of mine.  We are not exactly sure of our exact plan but I want it to include our daughters, we each have one.  I’m very excited to collaborate with  Cathie. Super excited about 2014!!!  I can feel the change.

9 thoughts on “words and peace

  1. It sounds like there are a lot of exciting things on the horizon for you in 2014. I look forward to hearing about your new projects. Best of luck to you! 🙂

  2. I LOVE your portrait!! It’s exquisite, just like you. You are so beautiful in this image, and always. Love the sepia and filter, whatever it is. Wonderful poem, I feel the same. I am always inspired by you to s-l-o-w it down! And enjoy it. Whatever “it” may be. Often I am so busy rushing from one item on my calendar to the next that I don’t even enjoy the events. Hopefully I can get a better hold of things in 2014. I’m super excited for all your photo projects and SO PROUD OF YOU!!

  3. Hello lovely you. Yay, I am so excited for our project which starts so very soon. Eeeeeeeeek! I have been off the radar as I felt I needed a bit of a technology detox. And WOW…. how exciting for your other projects. You know I will be following them and encouraging you all the way. I remember this beautiful photo well. You do these so well. 🙂 xo
    PS. Are you doing NOW YOU this year?

  4. It sounds like 2014 has a lot of magic to reveal 🙂 I can’t wait to hear more and see more of your journey in 2014, and I’m especially excited that this journey includes more photography! You have quite the eye and I love seeing what you’ve captured.

  5. Love your poem so much. Words are so incredibly powerful aren’t they. They can build someone up or down. Be full of joy or sorrow. Sounds like 2014 will be awesome! Happy New Year buddy, sending blessing to you and yours for health and happiness… Cannot wait to see this new project through your lens woohooo

Leave a Reply

