happy weekend

Well of course I will be posting pictures of food, I’m on a mission and food is a big part of my life.  So last night I made grilled teriyaki chicken with a slice of pineapple, a kale salad and a tiny bit of rice.  The picture below is the soccer players plate, he can get away with a little more carbs since he is so active.  It may look big but looks are deceiving because for years now we all (including) motorcycle man use a salad plate as our dinner plate.  This is all piled on a salad plate and the kale salad was a first.  I have tried kale chips and I have put kale in soups but never have I attempted to make a salad of it.  The results were awesome, soccer player loved it, motorcycle man liked it, I really, really loved it and the littlest and only girl tried some left over today and she likes it.  I think I’m on to a new healthy salad.

IMG_0145

I took these images at night and although they don’t look very natural with natural light like I adore, they look okay.  My Canon 20D would have never taken a picture this well at night….EVER.

IMG_0144

Dinner table at night (just practicing) 

In the salad I put kale, swiss chard, carrots, red cabbage and dried cranberries.  I just used a simple balsamic vinaigrette dressing.  I’m excited to add this to the rotation.

IMG_0139

I tried a new breakfast too.  My sister Sarah sent me this awesome link pop sugar for recipe ideas and this was a breakfast idea which includes avocados, one of my favorite things to eat.  Half an avocado with an egg cooked in it’s pit hole.  I cooked it on 425 for 20 minutes.  If the idea of hot avocado doesn’t appeal  to you, don’t bother.  I personally didn’t mind it.  I eat avocado rolls that are warm and like them so I figured why not?  The egg yolk remains runny but again, I love my eggs over easy so this worked for me.  I total this breakfast at 217 calories, the avocado was small and my fitness pal gave it that number calculation.

IMG_0147

My feet still hurt but hello, it’s only day 4!!

8 thoughts on “happy weekend

  1. Your photos are making me mucho hungry. Lovely photos and sounds like you are making some delicious dishes. You may have to be my healthy food guru. I’m hopeless. 🙂

Leave a Reply

