walk

treeThis week so far I have held up my end of the bargain with “myself”  I told myself I wanted to walk every day this week and to increase my walk by one lap. (this bit of talk about deals with myself reminds me of the movie “Best in Show”  that’s just a side note off the subject)  Today is Thursday and so far so good.  Yesterday was even better because Mama bear joined me.  She kept me company on my first lap and my first lap was my most favorite lap, it went by very quickly.  On our lap we saw the slightest rainbow through a part in the clouds, it kept getting stronger the closer we got! (sorry no photo)  The next three laps I spent with my headphones on.  I can get lost in certain songs and mostly I get lost in the sky.  I kept thinking “I had better be careful or I may trip”  I was looking up more than down and I couldn’t get enough of the sky.  It was sprinkled with clouds and they shifted and changed with nearly every step.  I watched ity bitty airplanes fly through the air, my cell phone couldn’t capture what my eyes saw.  I watched birds fly through the air into really tall trees, carrying twigs in their beaks as they were building their spring nests. I’m realizing what a blessing it really is to fit in a walk each evening.  It’s not easy fitting it in either but this week has been good.

photoI took the top image and turned it to black and white and added some words

palmI love our California palms.  When three are in a row I think of my three children

pink ribbonThe image in the sky that got me most excited was as I was finishing my last lap, I looked up to see a cancer awareness ribbon in the sky.  I darkened this image so it can be more easily made out.    I showed a friend at work and she spotted a heart too. It’s in the light part of the sky, so it was a double bonus!  I actually began to run towards it to see where my best angle would be.  Running up the side of a hill, “no”  it was when I stood between my in-laws home and my neighbor’s house that I saw the ribbon best. I felt blessed yesterday.

What do you see on your walks.  Maybe you will share a story with me or an image?  I would love to know.   Or if you have been stuck inside maybe step out and tell me what you find.  There are miracles and messages all around us.  We just need to keep our eyes open.   Try not to trip though!

4 thoughts on “walk

  1. T’IE I would trip even if I wasn’t looking up. 2 left feet or it feels that way sometimes. We see lots of beautiful things but sometimes my girl says mum, stop taking photos and lets just enjoy the walk. How can I argue with that? But I still have my phone at the ready… 🙂 Love your photos and stories.

Leave a Reply

