Spring Lunch in an Egg Carton

Of course this is NOT my original idea, that’s what Pinterest is for and I saw it there first.  Although my girl is in the 6th grade, she is still super-duper excited to take her lunch tomorrow.  This is how we did it.  I think it should be enough, I made four tiny heart sandwiches but also nearly another whole slice of ham cut into hearts and an addition slice of cheese, all which pretty much equal a full sandwich when you add them all up.  I could actually stuff a little more into the egg once I put the tops on.  I took this idea a step further though and decorated the egg carton.  We had the egg carton on hand, we had eggs from years and years of egg hunts, I save them and re-use each Easter and even the things I used to decorate the carton were in my craft cupboard.

IMG_3590

I began with the carton

IMG_3594

filled it up with 4 heart ham and cheese sandwiches, heart cheese, heart ham, tomatoes, one strawberry, black olives, blueberries, little fish crackers and lemon wafer cookies.

IMG_3596

and remember when the top goes on, more can go on that side of the egg.  I will see tomorrow if this ends up being enough food for a 6th grade girl.  We could always pack an apple or other snack on the side.

IMG_3599

I also snuck in a little note.

IMG_3600

TaDa! Her most favorite color, pink of course!

9 thoughts on “Spring Lunch in an Egg Carton

  1. O…M…G…!!!!! This is too cool for school (pardon the pun). This is really really cute. To think I threw out 2 egg cartons on the weekend. Grrr… I am doing this for my girl for lunch on the last week before Easter break. Only 2 weeks away. I really love this and the cute messages you put on the outside. 🙂

Leave a Reply

