Art inspires Art – it also heals if you allow it

art inspiredI took the image on the left a few summers back while we (our entire family unit of five) were on our way to watch a Pink Floyd laser show atop a building in Los Angeles. Motorcycle man likes to plan really fun things for us to do. This was one of his summer surprises. On the way there I snapped this photo from the cab of the truck (most likely when traffic was at a stand still) The lighting was really pretty and much like this photo, I only enhanced it a little. Carie my cousin by marriage sent me a message one day. She said one of my photo’s inspired a painting. When she finally shared the image with me I was taken aback. Not only did she make the painting far prettier than my memory she also evoked deeper memories from childhood with her pink power lines. When I was a young girl and we were on long car trips, short too probably. I would sit quietly in the back seat and look out the windows. I would imagine myself as a ballerina dancing gracefully atop the power lines. I was always very quiet and caught up in my imagination, or I would just talk quietly to myself. I was an only child for most the time. Carie also added scripture to the painting, in the background is Matthew 5:14 which reads “You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden.” She not only painted a gorgeous painting but she took me back to two really wonderful memories, showed me the city I love and added a scripture of light, which is where I often strive to be, in His light. I like to believe this was Holy Spirit driven. It is that divine and gives me those kinds of chills. Below is another image of that night. Driving through a tunnel with our first born. The first born enjoyed the evening the very most out of the three.

photo(3)This picture of Austin always reminds me of Willy Wonka;)

 

105

 

 

6 thoughts on “Art inspires Art – it also heals if you allow it

  1. Wow, Tracie. Thank you for sharing this on your blog. The pink power lines, your dancing, Willy Wonka and divine grace. Beautiful. Beautiful, my friend.

  2. I love how your cousin has portrayed your image. It’s really beautiful and love the stories of your trip. I can totally see the Willy Wonka connection in that photo. 🙂 Love your imagination. xo

  3. I love your photograph, and the artwork that came from it. Two forms of art, both of the same place, yet both so different. And the story about being a ballerina dancing on power lines is beautiful! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. You were absolutely right, Tracie, I REALLY loved this. How wonderful to see your photo come to life like that. I would be so delighted if someone did that with one of my photos!

Leave a Reply

