Guess what today is? Update time.

photo (19)

as turtle man likes to say “live action” me now…doing what I do! (listening to White Stripes, song Jimmy the Exploder & blogging my heart out) 

Today is the last day of April.  I stayed home from work today because my littlest and only girl had the most terrible migraine headache.  Poor little baby.  No light, no sounds and she just felt horrible.  I feel helpless as she gets through it.  She is on the mend now and things are looking up.  It’s a wonder what a shower will do.  I took one before I picked up soccer player from school today and he agreed to be my photographer.  I decided today was a good day to wear red lipstick.  Why not, it makes me smile an awful lot because it’s completely out of the ordinary for me!  When I began this journey in January I weighed in at 180  and today I’m 170 pounds. I have lost 10 pounds since January.  Although that’s not a speedy weight loss it’s going down and at this rate by the end of the year I should be down at least 20 and that’s pretty awesome.  I mean I’m still quite enjoying myself when it comes to food.  I will eat frozen yogurt WITH toppings, I will have a glass of wine, I will even eat a cupcake.  So not bad for still eating things I like. I also eat a lot of GOOD things and my water intake has increased quite dramatically since I began this journey.  I drink more water than most anything else.  Miss Moonspinner introduced me to heart shaped ice cubes made up strictly of pure lemon and cranberry and this is my new refreshing way to enjoy my water.

IMG_4403

my happy ice cubes

I really, really, really LOVE my fitbit.  It has motivated me way more than I could have ever expected.  I mostly get in my 10,000 steps a day, burn 2,000 calories, get my water quota in, and make it to around just over 4 miles a day and for sure get in 30 minutes of what it calls active minutes in a day, some days even more than that.  Don’t get me wrong though, there are some days I don’t reach my goal and getting in 10,000 steps for someone who sits at a desk half her day is not easy.  It takes quite a lot of intention.  I also have had days of great failure and that’s being harsh.  Like today for instance as I honor my body, it’s tired and my cycle has a way of draining my energy to levels of nearly zero.  All I want to do is lay in my bed or sit in the recliner and do virtually nothing.  Rather than beat myself up over still being in the turquoise and with only 1,500 steps so far today at 3:00, I will say “some days are for rest, today is that day”  “tomorrow will be a new day”  Lasty I upped the protein just a bit.  I had received some great advice not only from my mom but even some friends and so I changed it up a bit and when I did, I began to lose again.

weight end of april.jpg

170 End of April 2014

March 2014.jpg

174 didn’t lose a single pound in March 2014

weight174 end of February 2014

Feb 2014 beginningJanuary 2014 180

I’m half tempted to join a challenge that Prevention is having for the month of May.  This will be my change it up for May.  I’m thinking hard on it, so close to signing the contract;)

24 thoughts on “Guess what today is? Update time.

  1. YOU… ARE… AWESOME….!!! That is all. 🙂 Well note quite all. Love the red lippy and you really do look amazing. And I think I’m going to find a fun shaped ice cube maker today to make some yummy ice cubes too. Sooo proud of you. xo

  2. I LOVE your attitude. Staying positive and encouraging to yourself is the most important thing of all. Research shows that the more quickly one loses weight, the more likely it is to come right back. Slow and steady wins the race in weight loss and habit changing. So, you go girl! It sounds to me like you ARE ready to do the Prevention challenge. Plus, it might be a nice boost to mix it up a bit? 🙂

    1. thank you for your very kind comment. Do you have a blog too? When I click on your picture I just get taken to your Gravatar profile with no blog attached. Thank you again for your comment. It was so nice and just your comment alone was all I needed to commit to the Prevention challenge. I signed the contract and I’m ready to start my May with the Prevention community and all their tips and challenges for May.

      1. Kudos to you for signing up! Isn’t it amazing how important and influential social connections can be, even electronic ones? My blog is called WhittlingHarmony. 🙂

  3. Protein has become my friend this year. My husband started doing CrossFit in January, and one of the things they stress is upping your protein and cutting back on carbs. I began following his diet, not anything too wild, but making sure I up my protein, too, and am happy to report that I am 8 pounds away from my weight goal. : ) Go us, right? Proud of you!!

  4. Okay, what is the ratio of lemon and cranberry? Cause that looks awesome! And, WAY TO GO!!! 10 pounds is Awesome! I’m so very happy for you! I think that you are making lifestyle changes and that is so healthy for you – baby steps to a better you, and a realistic approach that you can keep up, I’m just so proud of ya!
    And I just noticed that Cathie ended her message the same way! LOL ❤

    1. So Kate, I think it’s about one cup of fresh squeezed lemon and then I grab a heaping handful of frozen cranberries and blend them all up in my blender, pour into my ice-cube trays and let them freeze up. Just know that you will have little bits of pulp and cranberries floating in your water, it turns the water a pretty pink color but looks like I’m a big back washer:)

  5. You look great Tracie. I can see a major difference from January to present! GOOD JOB!!!

    Linda “Believe you can and you’re halfway there”.

  6. I am always proud of you. How you approach life. Your loving heart. Your beautiful nature. This is great to read and see, Tracie. Yay FitBit thing. And yay to self love and kindness. Have a wonderful day, my friend.

  7. you are such an inspiration to all who have the pleasure of crossing paths with you! i am so happy for the wonderful changes coming to you from your hard work and dedication. you are such a beautiful woman, tracie. inside and out! xoxo

  8. You’re AMAZING! It’s such a challenge, isn’t it? But it looks like you’ve found a system that works for you. Baby steps! And yes on the fitbit. I adore mine. I definitely have 2,000 step days & am totally okay with that. All that matters is that you’re doing your best, ya know?

Leave a Reply

