Every day may not be good. But there is something good in every day.

bad days

It’s true you know.  Like yesterday for instance.  I nearly had a melt down and bought a gallon of ice cream when the dresses I was trying on looked so horrible on what I thought was my new and improved body. So I did what every social media junkie does.  I posted my frustration. And then do you know what happened?  A flood of positive feed back came in.  Friends even suggested things I could wear, some friends even offered their own clothes.  And in the end I realized it doesn’t matter what my body looks like, people don’t even see that.  They see ME.  I had just been taught the very same lesson I was teaching my girl the very day before as she was curled in a ball on her bed, crying because nothing looked good on her and her body was not “perfect” it’s not like “her friends” I told her this and I’m not even sure if I said the right thing or not.  I said “Abbie, sometimes my clothes don’t fit right and I feel yucky and I compare myself to my skinny friends, and then I realize my body is good, I can walk and I can jump and I can swim, I also know that my friends/family see me different from how I see myself, they see joy and love and they see straight through to my insides and they love me for exactly who I am and Abbie, that’s how I see you!  I see you as a beautiful girl with a big, big heart full of love and joy and so you radiate by just being you”  And then alas the very next day….I try on dresses and have a melt down.  Sigh….being human can be such a challenge.  But when I’m down God always seems to send the perfect people to cheer me up.  So we keep going, each day we just keep going.  Like “The Little Engine that Could” 

and when you have that attitude of I can and you just keep trying then eventually you will reach your goal.  So I’m not giving up and I’m going to continue to encourage my girl and show her how gorgeous she is by being who God created her to be, full of light, love and joy, with a pretty singing voice and sparkly eyes and she has the gift of touch and love, she gives the best hugs. Pretty soon, she will believe it too.

6 thoughts on “Every day may not be good. But there is something good in every day.

  1. I need a pair of shorts for summer. I also wanted one or two tops with some structure. I went to two different stores and not only did I struggle to find something, nothing fit right, nothing looked good, nothing had structure and the ones that were close… were $70. For a pair of shorts!!! Sometimes we just have days like that. I’m glad you reached out and look at the love you got in return! What a great group of people you have in your life, and what a great way to practice what you just preached to your littlest and only girl!
    PS, I left the stores and went to Walmart to do some grocery shopping, stopped by the big girl section and grabbed a $12 pr of pull up shorts, and I love them! 🙂

  2. Small joys! That’s what they are 🙂 Oh and I have loads of those days btw, the trying-on-clothes and then feeling down because I looked awful… Oh well. Part of being a woman, I guess… Why are we always so hard on ourselves? I also have to be careful with what I say in front of T, especially about my negative body-image (most times though, I’m content with what I see on the mirror!). Don’t want her to have issues too 🙂

  3. You are both beautiful and with a mum (mom) like you Abbie will know it too. 2 beautiful hearts/2 beautiful ladies. Sending big love your way. We Aussie girls who have these same moments are rooting for you big time! xo

  4. Another super honest and inspiring post T. I’m always so grateful to bounce in here and read about your days. YOU inspire many and are such a great mama. God is SO good!

Leave a Reply

