Body and Soul – June

IMG_3159

we are in this together

And here we are half way through the year already! It really does seem to move quicker with each year I add to my life. I think it’s good to have plans for the month. If I have a plan I do so much better even though I claim to be a fly by the seat of your pants kind of gal. Planning doesn’t come natural to me. I’m scattered, I’m messy and when it comes to planning for a trip and then packing for it…I get anxiety. Very often I pack just hours before I’m going to leave because if I begin to pack and plan days before or weeks like some people do, then my head starts to hurt and I feel like the world will spin off its axis. So against my nature I have to make plans. If I went willy, nilly through my days then I wouldn’t get anything very productive done and forget about eating with intention and moving and all the stuff that’s good for me. I would find excuses.

IMG_2963

My littlest and only girl and I were thinking of our summer plan. Her two favorite cousins will both be in Europe this summer for a chunk of time so it will be just the two of us with some occasional play dates. Our biggest plan is called Body and Soul. We have created a list of GOOD things that will earn us points for each day. We also have decided negative points need to accompany this plan. Life isn’t all roses you know; we have to admit that not all our choices will be good; therefore they will be negative points. So here is how it will go:

If we start off our day with a good breakfast, that will be 10 points and with each glass of water we drink we will get 10 points, when we spend time in the Word we get 10 points, when we do an active activity for more than 30 minutes, that will be 10 points, if she does a household chore, 10 points! And so on. If we decide that we want to order a soda while out, we get a negative 10 because let’s face it, if soda can clean a ring of hard water deposit off a toilet bowl then it’s not very good for us. If we decide to play on our devices for more than 30 minutes, that will be a negative 10. I don’t want brownies and cupcakes to feel like a bad thing so it’s hard for me to place a negative on treats (especially homemade ones we will be making together) so rather than put it as a negative I would rather us earn our negative food points. I’m still working out the kinks but I’m thinking if we have earned at least 50 points we can have one treat here or there? This is a loose plan until we work it out, test it you know?  I discussed it with my business minded child (second born) and he finds lots of holes in my plan and has some ideas.  So tweaking for sure will be happening. We just need something to keep us motivated so I’m going to work on a checklist with the littlest and only girl and slide it into one of those plastic sleeves so we can use it over and over each day with a dry erase pen. This is the biggest plan for June.

IMG_3403

The word is Mindful. I will also try to be more mindful in June because currently I’m mindless in most my day-to-day routines. More on that later.

10 thoughts on “Body and Soul – June

  1. This sounds like a great plan. I think it should have field trips in the plan like swim days with me and Jeremiah and beach days that require walking to a sandwich shop 🙂 you know things like that!

  2. I love the idea and the fact that you are getting ready before school is out. A daily checklist is good; it might be fun to do a journal together too 😉

  3. What a great post! I laughed when you wrote about getting ready to travel, coming unraveled, panicky… oh, oh, oh! I’m sorry… but I’m glad for the company.

    Your bracelets are awesome, by the way… and that’s a very cheerful child in this pictures. If it reflects your daughter, I think you must be fudging about lack. Bless. ~meredith

  4. LOL, that’s too cute! What a great way to stay mindful and in the moment! While I can tell you honestly that that system is not for me – I like the idea of it and I think it will be something fun for you two! What a fun way to start off the summer holiday!
    And movie theatre popcorn is not a negative – no matter how much butter you put on it! 🙂

  5. what a good plan. accountability always works for me, so I love the point system. good luck!! if you need some encouragement on the sugar/soda front, i’d suggest the documentary Fed Up (it’s eye opening). it sort of reset my sugar button. but it is still not easy…

Leave a Reply

