today I am brave

Today I am brave because I booked a flight to Oregon where I will meet up with a handful of women I have never met in person.  I have been invited to stay a weekend by the ocean with these kindred souls.  I’m a little nervous to be honest.  I have a weird feeling in my stomach.  I have never done anything quite like this.  I have not flown alone on an airplane since I was around 5 years old.  I’m extremely shy and very introverted.

IMG_8536

I just took a quiz to see if I’m an introvert which is so SILLY because I already know that I am.  I scored a solid introvert and of course it was no surprise.  The description actually sounds nice but I also read some place that introverts are selfish.  That part doesn’t sound very nice.  You see I’m happy in my own little world, in my own little house with my own little family.   I prefer a one on one friendship, I for sure prefer to express myself in writing,  I enjoy solitude, I care not for wealth or fame, I have been told I’m a good listener,  I’m not a risk taker, I like to celebrate my a birthdays on a very small-scale,  I have been described as soft-spoken, peaceful and mellow, I for sure think before I speak, I don’t need much but I do believe this will be something that will feed my mama soul.  It will be a time to be rejuvenated.  I believe this group holds women of all different stages in their lives and this will nice to look back and see ahead and also relate to those in similar stages.  I do happen to know that women need women friendships.  I may be shy, I may be introverted but this doesn’t mean I’m not brave.

I will tell you my photo’s and my videos do show my true spirit but this side of me is only truly seen by my best friend motorcycle man, my children who came out of my body and very close family and friends.  Other than that you will see me as more of an observer and never the center of attention.  And Although I’m trying to be okay with who I was born to be, I often wish I could socialize better.

What does it mean to be brave to you?

18 thoughts on “today I am brave

  1. Oh wow, this sounds so wonderful. You will have the most amazing time I know it. But with everything else you said above…. I am you, and you are me. It’s scary… but it’s not. Because I love who you are. And you know what, it’s who I am too and my own little world, with my own little family is pretty great. But that last line of yours, I wish it too. xo

  2. For me to be brave is to break out of my comfort zone, to ask for help or for advice. I’ve always been the “let me do it!” type of person, always insisting that I do it myself without anybody’s help. Another thing that is really hard for me to do is to ask people to let me take their picture . . . but I’m slowly working on that. Have fun in Oregon, can’t wait to hear all about it!

  3. Great blog ! To me to be brave is even as small as eating alone somewhere public, or joining a bible study where I’m not going with someone, I’m on the shy side as well and prefer to not to be the center of attention, but if not included enough my feelings are hurt. Lol have a great trip I’m sure it’s going to be the best time and your soul will be touched by these women.

  4. Well I’ll take the test but I already know how it will come out! I love being in my own little abode with my family, but I sometimes wish I could be in a little group of lady friends. A lot of my friendships went by the wayside as I matured and I never did replenish them. It’s hard to do as you get older.

    Have fun on your trip, and I can’t wait to read about it!

  5. You are indeed very brave. I wi t say how many of these types of get togetherness I have backed down from. It’s quite embarrassing. Give me one on one any day… In groups I’m totally speechless and blend into the wall, and that is if I managed to get there.
    I admire your bravery today!
    xxxx

  6. I’m not an introvert, but I am extremely shy, and I’m very proud of your for stepping outside your comfort zone, for cultivating friendships and being brave! Once you get there it will be so much fun and so fulfilling – and I know you can get there!

  7. Proud of you, friend. One thing I disagree with. That introverts are selfish. Bull! Don’t believe that crap. An extrovert wrote that! Ha! But seriously, I don’t think it’s true. I married an introvert so I know. You are not selfish! Loved your words, by the way.

  8. BRAVE! Good on you. Pretty righteous, too. Have fun. (I climb boulder fields in a ’59, somewhat worn body to find the necessary in me. Maybe it’s just foolishness, but I am the boss of my body dictionary.) 🙂

    I think it’s great you’re rocking your life. ~ Meredith

  9. I heard introverts get their energy from being alone
    Extroverts gain from being with others….
    Some days I love my own company, some days I need to reason things out with my peeps!
    See you Friday?

  10. So so happy that you are going, and I can’t wait to follow you all on this GREAT adventure! I think the initial socializing/getting-to-know-you part with that group is mostly done, and that’s the brutal part for we intros, you know? It’ll be like those worn shoes that you can’t wait to slip back on after a day in the heels you maybe shouldn’t have chosen. Maybe that’s too far a metaphor, but you know what I mean, I think. So so proud and happy and excited (and COMPLETELY JEALOUS 🙂 ).

Leave a Reply

