Sit down and Rest a While

IMG_8572

Assignment two.  Comfy chair.  I have a thing for chairs.  It’s not so much an addiction because I also have a person of reason who settles me down when I feel the urge to want to drag a new chair home.  It’s like coffee mugs.  Don’t even get me started on the mugs.  A slight addiction for sure on the mugs.  But since I’m not here to talk about mugs, let me tell you about my favorite chair.  It’s an heirloom.  It was my grandma and grandpa’s and I remember I loved these chairs as much as a kid as I do now.  Maybe more now because I really can appreciate the awesomeness of these chairs.  It had a male and a female chair.  One was a little bit more petite while the other was just a larger version of the small.  We only display the male because the females leg broke and it’s in our rafters.  So I love this chair with all my heart and yes, same old story.  Rich wishes we could release the chair.  I rarely sit in it because it sits off by itself but when I do sit in it.  I feel this comfort and a lot of nostalgia.  It’s naugahyde.   It’s black and it has wooden arms and wooden backing and wooden legs that spin and a matching stool.  I will have this chair until the day I leave this earth and then I can only hope one of my children love it as much as I do and will take it in.

IMG_8574

Here we have detail of it’s nice wooden curved modern arm.  You can tell it’s been loved, it’s a little grimy and a lot worn.

IMG_8607

This is the base that turns and twirls the chair.  I love a chair that can twirl.

IMG_8588

Here is me reading in my favorite chair:)

IMG_8591

And here we have an in focused picture of me reading in my favorite chair!

Remember I’m doing this project with my friend Christina who will also be showing you pictures of her favorite comfy chair  at 22 LIMES so please if you are as curious as I am, go look, please take a peek.  I’m wondering how similar or different our chairs will be??  I have decided to include a Walt Whitman quote with each of my posts that I share with Christina.

To me, every hour of the day and night is an unspeakably perfect miracle.

– Walt Whitman

7 thoughts on “Sit down and Rest a While

  1. I love that chair!
    I have a thing for side tables – and almost every room of my house has an occasional table that belonged to my great-grandparents. The other day I texted my sister that she had to take one of them! I love furniture from back then, like your chair, each piece is slightly different. You had male and female chairs, not a matching (sterile) set!

  2. Um, if I said I have a slight addiction to chairs too, would you actually believe that? You can ask Moon. I had to begin redoing them and selling them because I cannot pass up a good chair when I see one. Weird. Oh, and mugs. Especially unicorn and seattle ones…oh dear. Are we related??? 🙂

  3. Oh yes, what a fabulous chair! Not only is it an heirloom, but it’s really cool! I am a huge fan of shallow depth of field and blur, so I love how you captured your treasure, and you enjoying it! I am sorry to disappoint you though, I do not share in your addiction for mugs. I am not a coffee drinker at ALL, and Mt. Dew in a coffee mug just isn’t chic. {wink}
    What an amazing quote, I might have to steal that for my front door chalkboard, or chalk wall. Words to live by for sure! Excited for Monday, same bat-time, same bat-channel.
    ❤ friend. C. ☮

  4. I love this project! I love your heart for things that have value and meaning, even if others don’t see the value and meaning. Beautiful!

    Megs

Leave a Reply

