morning light

photo (20)

Our next assignment is morning light.  Although I claim to be a night owl I can really appreciate mornings and especially the beautiful East rising sun.  My kitchen and dining room face the East and they receive the most gorgeous light in the morning.  And it’s a quick-moving light and the shadows on the wall change and shift within moments.  Let me just say, when I read prompt number three I was so excited.  I thought, this will be so easy.  Words used like “quiet reassurance”  “inner peace” and “calm”  Sometimes my mornings can be anything but those lovely descriptions however when I stop and drink in that perfect light it can feel that way just for an instant.

IMG_8933

On rare occasions when I get up extra early before the sun truly begins to leak in, is when I have had the quiet before the kids get out of bed.  This is rare but it is cherished.  Sometimes I will even walk outside and watch the sun come up and listen to the birds as they begin their day too.  There is nothing like a morning.  It has a feel completely all its own.

IMG_8931

On a typical day motorcycle man is up first, he makes our coffee and unlike me, he seems to be more of a morning person.  He sings, he jokes around, he waters the grass, he will even do weird things like trim around the sprinklers with a pair of scissors all before going to work for the day.  Me….I’m quiet, I’m a little tiny bit cranky and I only laugh at his jokes once he says “okay, that’s it, if you don’t start laughing I’m going to quit”  Then I actually realize he has been doing a silly jig right in front of my face as I’m nearly spaced sort of looking through him rather than really grasping what’s happening.  Then I laugh.  I do actually laugh.  He can get me almost every time, I’m just a little slow.

IMG_8857

Again my friend Christina is doing the same thing on her side of the country and I’m curious, so curious what she will show us.  You can visit her at 22 limes, you will be glad you did.  She see’s things outside of the box.

IMG_8925

 

7 thoughts on “morning light

  1. These images…wow. They all convey that still sense of quiet anticipation of what the day will hold. Like they are runners waiting for the baton…that kiss from the sun…before they strike out on their own. This is what I feel with the kitchen shot in particular. I love this light and you really grabbed it. I appreciate so much how you appreciate so much. It helps me remember to slow down. Oh, and I like that you’re taking a break from some of your venues. I always know where to find you 🙂

  2. Tracie, you captured the morning light beautifully, I can feel it! I love the detail shots, especially the kitchen towel. You can feel that bright orange warmth that happens at sunrise. Love the morning dance that happens between you and your husband. Perfected over the years, I am sure! blessings.

Leave a Reply

