just a few of my favorite things

Remember when Oprah used to have her Christmas show and she would share some of her most favorite things then ALL the audience members would get what she loved? That was so awesome. I recently read a blog from a writer whom I admire very much, Emily P. Freeman and she shared some of her favorite things which are also simple gift suggestions. The funny thing is…I really truly love some of her favorite things and have similar things on my list. I even own the same book and coffee mug she has on her blog, only my mug has a letter (t) on it.

IMG_0935

Earrings – just yesterday I picked these up for myself and I don’t normally buy earrings very often. I have to really, really, really love them and then I will wear them day in and day out for years to come. My most favorite pair broke this year and so these are officially my new favorite pair. I got them at my friend Lilly’s shop Share and Do Good. It’s a wonderful store in down town Fullerton, a giving boutique for great causes.

IMG_0914

John O Donohue book – This book was recommended to me a few years ago by a friend of mine I met in my photo world. She and I were talking on the phone one night and she asked me if I had ever read any books by John O Donohue, the late John O Donohue was an Irish priest and philosopher. I was reading his take on our hearts last night, it’s a wonderful book and not sure why it took me so long to order it. Thank you Andrea for your wonderful suggestion.

IMG_0911

Bible – I look to this book for peace, for uplifting, for living advice, it’s the best manual I have found for my life. It has all the answers and it comes with a living God who I can actually talk to. I have about 4 Bibles. One was given to me by my parents when I graduated the 8th grade, it’s a New American Standard version, then I received one as a gift from my sister-n-law one Christmas and it’s the New King James Version and I have a really big pretty one that my parents got Rich and I our first Christmas together and it has our name engraved on it, it’s a King James version and lastly my New International study Bible that I got for myself. I love how most my Bibles are gifts from people I love.

IMG_0901

Candle – Lilly also sells these amazing smelling candles. Aren’t they just beautiful too? They are going like hot cakes so if you like the look of them I will guarantee you will love the smell of them and with each candle you buy it will feed a child.

IMG_0930

Pandora – I love music and I used to have a collection of records when I was a girl, then it went to tapes and from there I graduated to cd’s and then it was iTunes and what I had on my iPod and now it’s all about Pandora. I LOVE Pandora. Music is a crucial part of my life, I listen to it when I cook, clean, walk, drive and work.

IMG_0921

Typewriters – my new treasures!

IMG_6972

Camera – my tool. I have been into photography since I was a girl, yes girl. Probably Jr. High. I have always been the girl who has a camera in her hand, or even a video camera. I used to make videos when I was in Jr. High and High school. My mom and dad were trusting enough to let me tote around their old-fashioned VHS video recording camera. I would direct fashion shows, interviews and little skits. I also would just document my teenaged life. Let’s face it…it pretty much was my camera even though my parents owned it. They were generous with it. I would love to have those tapes transferred one day. I think my parents still have them. So I rather adore how my Canon 70D takes gorgeous photos and video too!

IMG_0952

Clementine’s – oh the smell! The taste! The vibrant color. What’s not to like?

IMG_0885

Essential oils – A sort of new passion. They are good for all kinds of stuff. So I have a small collection I use for things like, my allergies, children tummy problems, headaches and also for preventative measures.  I deal oil….just sayin.

IMG_0903

Vanille pefume. Oh how I love this perfume!!  It’s the best smelling vanilla I have ever smelt.  Okay, not bragging or anything but I think the one thing people most tell me is…”you are so sweet”  Yes sweet.  Of all things.  It used to tick me off, because I wanted to be edgy and I always considered myself a little bit of a rebel ,why can’t anyone else see what my inner self sees?  I’m learning to accept my sweetness so I decided if people think I’m sweet, mays well smell sweet too. I buy mine at Roadkill Ranch, my favorite clothes store in Fullerton.

IMG_0925

Handwritten letters – The art of writing letters in cursive. The lost art. I want to re-visit my calligraphy days. When I was a teenager my mom had me take calligraphy one summer. The story with that is….I snuck out one night and got caught. So my parents decided I would write 500 times in calligraphy “I will not be deceitful to my mother and father anymore” My mom recently gave me the stack of my hard work. Good practice right?

IMG_0892

Feathers – the feathers that I find, the feathers that are mailed to me from different states or even countries. It’s a gift it really is and I feel so blessed each time I find one.

And these are a  few of my favorite things!

 

4 thoughts on “just a few of my favorite things

  1. Those are some awesome things! 🙂 I’ve been looking at getting a new bible – I used the one I got when I was baptized for years and years and years – well into my teen and adult years, it was just a few years back that when helping Mr. T pick out his first bible that I figured I needed a “grown up” one. I don’t think I put the proper thought into it… plus, it’s falling apart, so that’s a good excuse to go shopping!
    Having said that – I still thumb through my original bible and look at all of the notes and how my handwriting changed over the years, and look at what passages were highlighted or underlined, it’s lovely to see what has been important to me over the years!

  2. Hi Tracie, I love all of your favourite things. The earrings are lovely, delicated but present. I haven’t read this book, but I’ll add it to my list, I just ordered 5 new books I’m waiting to arrive for the holidays. Bible, of course I have and I read sometimes, I open and read the page that shows up, I’ve my one and recently I got one for my son. Your candle is gorgeous, sad I don’t have this store close by, and I haven’t heard Pandora, but I’ll look for it, and I love all the rest too, I have crystals and feathers collections, they keep me in contact with Earth in the winter. Thanks for the lovely email, we need to keep up and help each other. Hugs!

    1. 2015 will be good and we can for sure help each other because that is a gift and blessing in this life. I’m really looking forward to 2015. If you love music you will love Pandora. You just put in an artist you love and it will rotate in other like artists and create a beautiful flow of music to listen to.

Leave a Reply

