visits to grandma

IMG_1036

“We were sent into the world alive with beauty. As soon as we choose Beauty, unseen forces conspire to guide and encourage us towards unexpected forms of compassion, healing and creativity.” (John O’Donohue)

We had a whirlwind weekend.  We got up just before the sun Saturday morning to travel a distance away to see my grandma.  She will be 85 on Tuesday.  I sadly have not spent very much time with this grandma but it’s never too late.  I decided and with the support of my husband that we would drive to see her, to give hugs and kisses, to cook with her, to grocery shop with her and then sneak off to her favorite taco stand. We left before her big party was going to happen but for me it wasn’t about the party it was about hearing her sweet voice, as she jingled around the kitchen “grandma? where are you hiding those bells?”  She giggled and smiled (she is good at that) “I’m not-a tellin”  then she spilled the beans….”they are tied to my socks”  We made her famous home-made blue cheese dressing and shrimp cocktail and some deviled eggs.  Her name is Joy, I have mentioned her before.  She is her name.  She smiles  and laughs often, her blue eyes twinkle and she tells the best stories.  We stop at her door and she opens it wide and she says “welcome to my casa, please do come in!”

black and white

4 thoughts on “visits to grandma

  1. I love how happy you all look! What a gorgeous photo!! And the leaves are pretty nice, too…. what a great idea: a road trip to see Grandma. Road trips just make everything seem so much more exciting. I’m sure she enjoyed your energy, too.

Leave a Reply

