the hours 2014

hours year 2014

Last year I was invited to a shared blog called the hours the whole purpose of the blog was to bring a group of ladies together from all around the world and each of us would post one photo a month beginning at 7 a.m. in January and ending at 6 p.m. in December.  If you were to ask me if I had a favorite hour or month I will tell you it was December at 6 p.m. this group of collective photos was pure magic!  I don’t like to shoot after dark without a flash, I just don’t feel very good about it and especially being indoors but then it ends up being my favorite hour.  My favorite month.  It had a quality of magic as I mentioned and also qualities of joy and peace amongst a little hustle and bustle that the season can bring and some spirits too, in the form of some cocktails.

6

The hours is going for another round in 2015.  I have decided to stick with it.  Why?  Because is pushes me to try new things, it has me learning too.  Many of the women and now a few men even are always open to share their knowledge.  I will miss some of the gals who decided not to give it another year but I understand and respect their reasons.  On the flip side I’m excited to meet a few new photographers, rub elbows with some familiar old friends and also be in the presence of some mind-blowing talent.  I sort of wonder how a hacker like me even ended up there, however variety is the spice of life and I do bring variety and I’m going to be content and comfortable in my own way of contributing to this year-long project.  Again honored and feeling blessed to be there.  I hope you might follow us this year, see who is new and what we all come up in the hours of our days from month to month.  I used to tag all my pictures Los Angeles because I live less than 20 miles from our City of Angels and I do live in Los Angeles County but I decided this year to keep it completely accurate and state that I’m from a little tiny city in L.A. County called La Mirada because that’s where most likely I will be shooting my hours….unless I get adventurous and leave my little city, then I will note otherwise.

What projects will you be doing in 2015?  Do you have a word? My word is Balance, let’s hope I can balance my hours, it’s quite manageable really and also balance the year-long video time capsule class I’m being taught by Xanthe Berkeley who…..is also in the hours this year! I’m also going to continue a shared blog with my friend Christina at 22limes and our friend from the UK Debs where we will be “shooting with soul”  We haven’t quite figured out our kinks on that one but we will be going through this book by Alessandra Cave for the entire year of 2015.  It’s always good to keep learning, to keep stretching and to stay creative if that is where you heart is.  I will begin my first 8 weeks of 2015 in a more spiritual way with class made available by Jeanne Oliver called Becoming, it’s an 8 week study that’s absolutely free if you might also be interested.

Wishing you a healthy 2015 in body, mind and spirit

10 thoughts on “the hours 2014

  1. I’m with Staci, I have absolutely loved your year as well sweet friend.
    You’re such a big inspiration in my life, and I think about you often sweet Tracie. xoxo
    Wishing you and your lovely family a happy and healthy 2015.

  2. So proud of you and your collaborations throughout the year. You are so inspiring to me. 🙂 I will be following along with you in 2015 and can’t wait to see your beautiful photos and read your stories. I absolutely love the Hours project too. Will be watching the amazing talent over there too. xoxo Hugs to you my friend.

  3. Oh you! I love you – your positivity and your willingness to keep pushing yourself & I am so very glad to have that shared space of the hours with you. xxoo

  4. Yeah, I am so happy you decided to do the Becoming class. I thought you might like it! Excited for all the fun projects that we are all working on. So much to do, so little time. I have not followed the hours blog, but I have enjoyed all your contributions. I’m going to have to make a visit over to that site and check out everyone’s contributions. Happy New Year my friend!

Leave a Reply

