taking stock – february

IMG_8894

MADE: made a video time capsule every single Sunday in February.

COOKED: I cooked a few new recipes in February – mostly from Pioneer Woman. YUM!

DRANK: lots and lots of water, in hopes my skin would clear a little. It did not.

READ: a book about the lost art of hand written letters (a gift from Mama Bear)

WANTED: a record player

PLAYED: my own share a heart a day game from February 1st to the 14th.

DECIDED: I wanted wood to expand some shelves.

WISHED: for more rain

ENJOYED: sweet breads that my mom bought us from 85 degrees.

WONDERED: if I should paint my dining room bold and peacock…or peaceful and white?

PONDERED: my authentic self

STARTED: to read self matters by Dr. Phil. Growing is hard work.

WATCHED: new season of Survivor and Amazing Race.

HOPED: for more rain

NEEDED: new underwear

SMELLED: the wet asphalt when it did rain

WORE: leggings. I finally got leggings! For under my skirts!!

NOTICED: the beautiful movement of the sun and realized as someone pointed out…I love the sun

KNEW: I knew I would fall completely in love with making videos

THOUGHT: about how when we celebrate 25 years of marriage in two years how we can go on a trip

ADMIRED: my sister for living without her husband and reconfiguring her life until he can come live here for good. International marriages can be rough.

SORTED: through Abbie’s room and donated some Barbies and dolls that she was ready to release

BOUGHT: the wood for those new shelves

FINALLY: emptied out an old cabinet that had just stuff that I didn’t really need anymore

DISLIKED: all the random hair my little animals leave for me to vacuum and sweep up

FELT: loved by some sweet mail and gifts that arrived via mail in February

FOLLOWING: View Finders and I’m head over heels in love with this blog

SNACKED: on an apple nearly every day dipped in maple syrup almond butter

WISHED: My legs would stop itching

LISTENED: to my gut instincts because if one feels it in their gut then it’s probably true, right Deb?

DISCOVERED: my imovie had a newer version with an upgrade I had ignored!!!

SCRIPTURE FOR FEB: Ephesians 3:16-19  16 I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, 17 so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, 18 may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, 19 and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.

and speaking of making movies:  My time capsule for the entire month of February can be watched here and the secret word is:    love

And it is here when I finally realized how much the sun means to this California girl.

https://vimeo.com/120959143

16 thoughts on “taking stock – february

  1. Such a wonderful taking stock. Some great things in there and few in common. I love the new Viewfinders blog. So much great stuff to take in there. I’ve only ready a bit at this stage. I want rain. I’m contemplating emptying cupboards and convincing Jess to part with some preloved toys. Every time I try to start parting with toys I hear the “When Somebody Loved Me” song from Toy Story 2 and picture the toys and Andy’s face from Toy Story 3. Then when I do drop stuff off at a preloved goods shop I look back at those things and wonder if they’re sad I’m leaving them. (Yes, I’m a bit special). Anyway, gorgeous post as always and oh my gosh…. how about that photo. Knockout! xoxo

    1. This is how it all went down Cathie, she was ready to purge then all, every last Barbie, every last doll (minus her American Girl dolls) I was like “what if you just pick out your top 5 barbies with a few outfits and we can save them in the big zip lock bag” She reluctantly agreed. I was thinking she may regret it if she released them all. I pulled a doll aside for a little neighbor girl too. I’m really the one with the letting go issues. We are alike in so many ways.

  2. Loved your photo & scripture, i think you’re real ballsie in a lot of ways. Really LOVED your video, your so beyond beautiful with your smiling face, you guys sharing your happy moments just tugs at my heart strings, loved the waves shots & flowers & waves crashing into Rich! Well done on the videos!!! I also enjoyed the song💜u

  3. beautiful video! That sunlight on your bedspread took my breath away. I could put that on repeat and just watch it forever! (How long did you have to leave the camera on there?!) And the Valentine’s date…. and the soaker on the beach. Brave man, Motorcycle Man. Hope he didn’t get washed away in it. Your life is beautiful. So good that you are preserving it like this!

    1. Thank you Alie, that sunlight across my bed is like a daily gift…almost daily but since we have so much sun it’s more than not. The sun and it’s shadows quickly move across my room. I found a heart one day in the shadow and nearly freaked out. You can actually see the heart in this video but it moves quick and can be easy to miss. I have a time lapse on my iphone and I just sat it down for I think just about an hour or maybe 45 minutes, something like that.

  4. Love the scripture you picked – loved the video and the still frames of Motorcycle Man and the crashing wave – but love, love, love that you know have leggings!! 🙂 That warmed my heart and I whooped with glee and pointed at the computer when I saw that line up above! Good thing I am alone! 🙂

  5. I’m watching your fantastic video while the snow is falling here. It makes me feel just a bit warmer. You have a wonderful talent for putting ordinary bits of your world together into 4 minutes of pure magic. Thank you so much for sharing your talent, and your world. ❤️

  6. So fun! I love this!
    I sent you an email quite a while back addressing your skin concerns. Anyway, I hope it didn’t come across weird but I had some thoughts that may help. Anyway, I can resend that email if you didn’t get it. Or you can just tell me to back off. 😉
    Anyway, keep up the great image and video work. I just love it!

Leave a Reply

