Salad in a Jar

IMG_2289

Today what I really really wanted and nearly made the stop on my way home from work was Wienerschnitzel, yes, you heard me I love Wienerschnitzel LOTS.  I know hotdogs are made out of really random crazy parts but you know what?  I like um.  So it wasn’t so much the hotdog I had in mind but the chili cheese fries, not just the original but their new bacon, ranch chili cheese fries.  I saw their add laying in the break room and I couldn’t stop thinking about it.  I’m here to tell you that changing your life style and eating better does not come easy for me.  It’s really hard and it takes much effort.  This is how it feels to me.  I’m still learning basically. Now is the time where you give me a big applause because this time I made a different choice  I went against my desire and stopped at the market to get some veggies to add to things I already knew I had at home to make a salad.  I had seen on someone’s Pinterest page this idea.  So it’s not my idea, I didn’t come up with this brilliant plan.  However I’m adopting it and it’s been made, tested, tasted and it’s a for sure a winning idea. Below see how I built my salad in a jar.  It’s a lot of work.  It is!  Lots of washing, chopping and making a nice big mess in the kitchen but since it’s done all at once it makes it worth while.  I made a half-dozen jars of salads that are now easy to grab on the go and super full of goodness.

IMG_2255

So these are the jars I began with, 6 clean pint & half sized jars with a wide mouth

IMG_2258

Then I cut up some leftover chicken and some cucumbers

IMG_2260

Rinsed some black beans, just one can

IMG_2264

I love cilantro, so I cut up some of that

IMG_2266

Cut up some broccoli (small) this is from my home delivery

IMG_2270

Radishes (also from home delivery)

IMG_2271

Carrots (again home delivery)

IMG_2272

orange bell pepper and red tomatoes

IMG_2273

kale (home delivery)

IMG_2276

Spinach and not photographed but a little butter lettuce (that was also from my home delivery)

IMG_2282

I put a little olive oil and balsamic viniager at the bottom of the jar

IMG_2286

I began to layer

IMG_2289

This is what it looked like when I finished packing it all in.

IMG_2294

Give it a good shake

IMG_2296

Dump it on a plate

IMG_2297

It fills about this much of the plate and the dressing covered all the crunchy yummy salad parts perfectly (see that heart on the jar lid?)

IMG_2298

But you see what I mean? Big Mess

IMG_2299

All the lettuce I didn’t use I will bag in a large ziplock

IMG_2300

Okay confession, not all these dishes are from this days chopping and preparing.

IMG_2301

So I plan to crank some music and clean up this mess next

IMG_2302Then I put the extra’s in my fridge, the fridge in the garage, that’s why this looks so bare;)  TaDa!  I highly recommend this!

14 thoughts on “Salad in a Jar

  1. You, my gal, are completely amazing. These are wonderful. who care that they are not your idea. As far as I’m concerned they are Tracie West’s Sensational Salads in a Jar. I have really been lacking mojo the last week or so. I’ve hardly picked up the camera and I have made bad choices, but they were sooooo yummy. I so need to get back on track and have nearly posted about my FAIL’s and lack of drive a couple of times, but my manic mojo wouldn’t even let me do that. I will be back. Oh yes, I will be back. With jars of salad in hand. 🙂 These look delish. xoxo

  2. Okay today I followed temptation😳
    I was near Costco they have a hot dog and a drink for 1.50$
    I fell for it !
    Yikes!
    Then you show the most healthy and beautiful salads😰
    I feel sick😷

  3. I’ve heard good things about those. I have a girlfriend do this a few weeks ago and the only issue she has was that the cucumbers only lasted the first couple of days and she ended up picking them out the rest of the week. So, now I can’t wait to see how you like it! And I’m really proud of you for making a good choice today! 🙂 it’s not easy!

    1. I will let you know how long they last but since I gave a few away I need to test it again. I thought it would be great to do this for Abbie too. She is a salad lover and it’s easy to pack as her lunch. Veggies are so good. As I cut them and stuff I kept thinking of the gorgeous colors and the smells and how blessed we are that God created such amazing whole goodness for us. I just need to remember that when I want a hotdog. Veggies are far prettier than a hot dog.

Leave a Reply

