Am I ready? Yes I am.

Last week was busy because I planned it that way.  Last week was strange.  When I use the word strange, I mean it took me to places I had not planned on going.  Anyone who really knows me, knows this.  I’m usually game for “almost” anything. (except extreme heights and small spaces)  So it begins with my friend Lilly who owns that cool store, “Share and Do Good”  https://www.facebook.com/ShareAndDoGood?fref=ts   She sends me a message that there will be a maxi skirt warehouse sale near her shop.  Of course I’m IN!  You do remember my recent post called https://lifeinthewyldewest.wordpress.com/2013/06/11/uggggghhhhhhh/  where I completely vent about my current weight and my tight jeans!  The invite couldn’t come at a more convenient time.  So I meet up with Lilly and a few of her friends, a couple of the gals actually go to my church so we have that in common, I had already met Shannon but Pam and Janet, they were new to me.  I picked up real quick that Pam and Janet were into health and fitness.  So I ask “are you guy’s personal trainers for a living?”  And funny I should ask, they invited me to a FREE fitness camp three mornings a week.  FREE?  I explained that I had signed up for a boot camp ONCE, and only ONCE, like as in one morning was enough for the rest of my life!  Pam went on to say “it’s not like boot camp at all, it’s all at your own pace, personal goals and achieving your own personal challenges”  How could I pass this up?  Me being me, I couldn’t.  So last Wednesday I show up.  It was awesome, completely awesome, I felt energized for the rest of the day.  Nice jump-start and it wasn’t murder, it was just a slight burning of the arms and a little sweat, no red-faced heart palpitating disaster like boot camp was.  Plus they didn’t yell at me. I can do this.  I can really do this.  It seriously couldn’t have come at a better time.  It’s like painting a room, one has to be in the mood, or it’s like washing windows, again one must be ready for that sort of thing.  I feel ready.

walking shoesYou know when you see real walking shoes and not my toes or converse then I mean serious bizz

 In-between this unexpected twist of events this week I was able to get in a swim visit with cousin Jeanie, which was pretty awesome, Friday I hung out with S.A.L.T. that’s what we call ourselves. Shauna, Alice, Lisa and Tracie, we try very hard to hook up a few times throughout the year to catch up. Thursday I weeded my garden, blogged about my smoothie, and had my first official float in our backyard pool (I don’t mean a drink, I mean to float on water), I love to float and I mean LOVE and I got to see my longtime friend Debi who I have not seen in a whole entire year. It was a fantastic week.

S.A.L.T.

S.A.L.T.

Last Friday I got to walk with my new Activate friends.  It’s a small group of awesome people just trying to get healthy.   I got the full evaluation.  I KNOW I’m overweight, that’s no secret but I had no idea my body was that of a 59 year old!  What the what? Or as Aunt Mel likes to say, “What the Cus!!” So guess what? 24 Activate not only teaches free fitness classes they also promote and sell herbalife and I had my first shake Friday and it tasted so GOOD.  I may give it a go.  Not sure if my budget can afford it but I may be able to figure something out.

banana lovefinding love in my frozen banana

You see in our family we have a history of diabetes and heart disease.  They are the number one killers in our family.  I lost my great grandpa on my mom’s side to a massive heart attack and my grandpa (my mom’s dad) had diabetes and heart disease and died far, far too young.  We also have women in our family who have diabetes and heart troubles.  But with proper diet and exercise this can be avoided.  So really.  It’s up to me.   I can really help to prevent some of this.  Like Pam said,”we can’t run from our bodies, we are stuck with um, so we need to make it work the best for us.” We have that control.  It may be expensive to eat right but if I don’t take care of myself now then my medical bills later could be expensive I may even have to be on medication one day? Why wait for that to happen? I know there are other ways to be healthy besides using herbalife but once she went over the benefits etc.  I mean one guy in the group was suffering from joint pain and guess what?  No more.  Just all the wonderful nutrients in the product benefit us in many different ways it seems.  I do want to be less heavy. I do.  But more than that, I want to be healthy.  I also want to be STRONG.  I’m not exactly sure what I will decide but I do know I’m ready for change.

walk path

This is part of the walking path we take, I love that is reads SHARE!!

So I also want to share my stats with you now because I know they will be changing.

I accidentally deleted them but I think my weight was 177 and my body age was 59 this is all I remember.

12 thoughts on “Am I ready? Yes I am.

  1. Wow! That’s so cool. Body age of 59??! I will have to look up how to figure out mine and Jon’s. I bet that would be extremely motivating. I’m so happy for you and your new group. I agree that I just want to be healthy, strong and to have a lot of life left in me. I have big plans once the kids move out! . . . in 11 years!! So I know I’ve got to “use it or lose it.” Me and the girls are doing a Healthy July, so keep up the posts for my inspiration! So proud of you 🙂 Love the banana heart.

  2. Love the path’s sign “Share”. I must find out how to evaluate my body age, but I’m pretty darn sure it will be like 65 or 70. Or maybe that’s how I feel. 🙂 Good luck missy. You can do it. Rooting for you way over here in Oz. xo

  3. Sending lots of positivity and support your way! A healthy lifestyle isn’t always easy, but it’s worth it. I started in April changing my entire life – how I eat, how I take care of my body and mind, etc. – and I feel amazing. I know you will too!

    1. Thank you friend, thank you so much. I really, really want to do this. I think it will be such a good thing. I really let myself get out of control these past several years. Only I can change that. I really want to. And I will.

      1. you will, you will, you will. and putting yourself out there in this “public” forum is hard, but it will keep you accountable. AND, more importantly, provide you the support from all of us when you need it. go you.

    1. I love you Lisa. I keep changing my page layout but only use the templates because I haven’t wanted to spend the cash to really personalize my bolg. In my head when I reach 100 readers, I may pay to be more creative.

Leave a Reply

